Seafood Enchiladas a la Kristin

Good Friday evening! I hope that your weekend is off to a good start. I am so excited to share with you this fabulous recipe I came up with tonight!

Now, if you know me or if you’ve followed my blog for awhile you know that I like to cook new and healthy recipes but as far as coming up with my own recipes it doesn’t happen very often. I am very prone to screwing up recipes that someone else has written so I’m very hesitant to try something on my own. S, tonight was a special experiment. We had some left over sea scallops and shrimp from our stay at home Valentine’s Day dinner. Brian mentioned that it would be fun to make sea food enchiladas just like the ones at our favorite Mexican restaurant, Manny’s (remember we visited there for our first Valentine’s Day dinner). I started searching for recipes online but didn’t find any that I really liked, so I kind of combined a couple and add my own flare to the recipe. I’m happy to say it turned out fabulously! Since I was pretty much using up left over frozen sea food I don’t have exact measurements for that but here is the recipe to the best of my knowledge.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a bag of small frozen sea scallops defrosted
  • 1/2 bag of small pre cooked, frozen, deveined, shrimp, tales removed defrosted
  • 8 perch fillets boiled and then chopped into small pieces*
  • 1 C shredded cheese
  • Paprika
  • Garlic salt
  • Cumin
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 C fat free half and half
  • 1/2 C light sour cream
  • 1/4 C Earth Balance (you could use real butter if you would like)
  • 2 tsp. chipotle peppers in adobe sauce, pureed
  • 10 whole wheat tortilla shells

Directions

  • Sauté garlic and onion in a little olive oil just until onion is translucent
  • Add scallops and sauté until just barely cooked
  • Add shrimp and perch. Sprinkle with paprika, cumin, and garlic salt and heat through. Sprinkle with cheese, remove from heat.
  • In a medium sized pot mix the sour cream, half and half, Earth Balance, and pureed chipotle peppers. Keep the heat on medium and stir constantly until well combined. Remove from heat.
  • Fill the tortilla shells with the seafood mixtures. Roll  up and place in a casserole dish.
  • Once all the shells are filled and in the dish pour the cream mixture over the tortillas. Sprinkle with cheese and bake at 350* for 30 minutes

*You can pretty much use any seafood you have on hand. Brian thought we should “beef it up” with the perch and it was a great idea!

Sautéing the onion and garlic

Sea food enchiladas 1

Adding the scallops

Sea food enchiladas 2

Adding the shrimp and perch.

Sea food enchiladas 3

I did drain off some of that liquid. I forgot to take a shot with the cheese sprinkled on top.

Next up mixing the ingredients for the cream sauce.

Sea food enchiladas 5

I had never used chipotle peppers before. They had such a wonderful smoky smell and were very spicy. I have quite a few left over and need to figure out how to use them. They really added something special to the recipe.

Filling the tortilla shells was a little tricky at first, I realized I had to heat the shells first in order to soften them up or they would break.

Sea food enchiladas 6

All lined up and ready to go into the oven.

Sea food enchiladas 8

Melty goodness right out of the oven.

Sea food enchiladas

I can’t believe how well these turned out. Brian and I both really liked them. I think these are semi healthy since I used whole wheat tortillas and light cream and butter but they are a bit indulgent. Not to mention sea food isn’t cheap. Maybe we can check out the sales and add the fresh fish Brian catches to them like we did tonight. They also create a lot of dishes to wash!

Clean dishes 2

These weren’t all from dinner tonight. Some where from last night, breakfast, and empty left over containers from lunch.

Not much  planned for the evening. Tomorrow I’m teaching Zumba in the morning and hosting a thank you dinner for some of my college students. Hope you are having a good start to your weekend!

Technorati Tags: ,

Leave a comment