Margaritas as big as your head!

Good evening! Are you ready for the weekend? I am! I had every good intention of getting up before the crack of dawn and hitting the pool for some laps this morning but last night I COULD NOT fall asleep. My mind just kept racing thinking of a million different things. I tried every trick I knew including reading a really boring book for grad school but it didn’t work! I new there was no way I would be able to get up early and function properly at work so I skipped the workout.

Tonight Brian and I went out for an early Valentine’s Day celebration. Work and life get pretty busy so sometimes we decide to celebrate holidays earlier or later than the actual date depending on what we have going on. We decided to do something a little different tonight. We went to one of our favorite Mexican restaurants, Manny’s Cocina which specializes in Mexican seafood dishes. We have been there several times before and noticed some pretty unique appetizers but never ordered any because we wanted to save room for their delicious dinners. Tonight we headed to the restaurant early, in time for Happy Hour, and ordered a fine selection of appetizers.

First up a half priced pitcher of their perfect margaritas!

102_0142

They’re as big as your head!

102_0145

For our appetizers we chose the Ahi Tuna (not on the online menu) which was a sushi grade cut of tuna, cooked rare and served with a creamy jalapeno sauce.

102_0153

I thought I would be a little grossed out by the fact that this was pretty raw but it was warmed through an tasted AMAZING! So sweet and tender with a kick from the jalapeno sauce!

Next up the Ceviche Fresco Cocktail: Diced, Fresh Sea Scallops, Red Snapper and Jumbo White Shrimp, marinated in lime juice and herbs mixed with cilantro, tomatoes, chopped yellow onion and jalapenos. Served in a jumbo size bowl.

102_0148

This was huge, very fresh, light, and delicious!

Then we tried the Seafood Cortez Nachos: Extraordinary nachos loaded with bay shrimp, select crabmeat, Pico de Gallo, salsa, and chipotle cream sauce on top of Manny’s homemade tortilla chips topped with melted cheddar and jack cheese.

102_0150

These were amazing and very decadent!

Finally we had a crab cake that was featured as one of their specials. Not sure what was in this was it so good! It paired really well with the mango and cilantro salad it was served with.

102_0146

This was such a fun idea. We got to try a bunch of fun, fancy dishes, saved a little money, and maybe even a few calories…maybe. We might have to check out other restaurants and their appetizer menu to try this type of date night again!

It got up to 30 degrees today and will hopefully do the same tomorrow. I have plans for a run…outside! I’m really looking forward to it! Other than that I might do some grocery shopping, homework, and laundry.Later Brian and I are going over to my parents to watch Avatar in 3D!!!

Hope your weekend is off to a good start!

One response to “Margaritas as big as your head!

  1. Now you have me craving Mexican 😉 – I saw Avatar in 3D at the IMAX theater and wow! It is in my top 5 favorite movies, the colors and scenery were just amazing. Made me want to visit…they need an Avatar theme park with rides, ha!

Leave a Reply

