I want to remember

I don’t know what it is about having a second baby but I find myself (usually in the wee hours of the morning) soaking in every aspect of my little girl and trying my hardest to capture every little thing and hold it close in my heart. I don’t know if it was because I was so overwhelmed becoming a new mom or because the sleep deprivation was such a shock but I feel like I forgot all the “little things” about Hunter when he was an infant. Maybe it’s because Everly is a second child and I know how fast that first (and second!) year go by. Or maybe it’s because Everly will most likely be our last baby that I find myself cherishing these little things that make her her

. These are the things I want to remember

I want to remember how soft her fuzzy little head feels next to my cheek. 

I want to remember how squishy her cheeks are when I kiss them

I want to remember how her sweet eyelashes rest against those cheeks when she is asleep

I want to remember her pretty pink lips and how relaxed they look when she sleeps

I want to remember how she opens her mouth wide and smiles when she sees me

I want to remember how she falls asleep while nursing with her head resting against me, so happy and content

I want to remember how she gazes up at me with her blue eyes while she happily nurses.

I want to remember how when her brother is around he is all she can focus on

I am sure there are so many more things I should be remembering but these are the ones that come to mind!

My advice to all new parents CHERISH EVERY MOMEMET. These little ones are such a blessing and a wonder!

Leave a Reply

