A Day In the Life With 2 Under 2

Hello there! I thought it would be fun to show you what a day in my life at home with my two little ones is like. I know I always like to read other people’s descriptions of what goes on in there day to day life so I thought you would too. Or maybe I thought this would be a good way to explain why I have dark circles under my eyes! Just kidding….well, kind of.

Monday January 13, 2014

My day starts VERY early at 3:30am BUT I have actually been sleeping since 9:30pm! This is the longest Everly has ever slept, 6 hours, and it is glorious! I change her, feed her, burp her, change her again (she pooped!) finish feeding her and she drifts off to sleep. By now it is 4:45am and I lay down and try to get some sleep.

I get a little more rest before I hear Hunter stirring at 6:30am. I look over and even though Everly is making noise she appears to be asleep so I go get Hunter up out of his crib and change his diaper. Of course he is chattering a mile a minute. While I am doing this I hear Everly crying. I go back and get her and change her.

We all head out to the living room so I can nurse Everly and Hunter can play with his toys. Hunter shows me all his animals and trucks and surprisingly Everly drifts back to sleep. I hesitate to lay her down since she is not swaddled but I figure it is worth a try. She stays asleep so I head to the kitchen to prepare breakfast It is now 7:30am.

Breakfast is easy, a muffin and banana for Hunter and cereal and milk for me. I also decide to try something new at breakfast, pumping! I figure I better start building up a stash for when Everly goes to day care. I pump the side she didn’t nurse on while I eat breakfast. I am kind of surprised and disappointed that I get less than 2 oz. but I don’t have time to worry as Hunter is done with his breakfast.

I take advantage of Everly sleeping to throw together dinner in the crockpot. I think I might just have time to clean up the kitchen but I hear Everly waking. It is  8am Hunter and I go to get her. She seems kind of happy so I try to put her in the bouncy seat while I play with Hunter but she wants to be held. While I am holding her she poops and needs a full on wardrobe change.

At 8:45am Everly eats again. It is a surprisingly nice day so I decide to try something else new, our first group walk! I get Hunter all bundled up, put Everly in the Ergo, put on a giant coat so Everly is covered, get the dog on her leash and head out. We do our usual “loop” which I haven’t done in AGES! Everly promptly falls asleep and Hunter and Izzy have a blast enjoying the fresh air and checking out what is new in the neighborhood.

We get back around 9:45. I play with Hunter while Everly keeps sleeping in  the Ergo. She wakes up about an hour later and is still pretty happy so we keep playing until she wants to eat again at 11:00am. After she finishes eating I get lunch ready for Hunter and myself. While we are eating lunch Everly gets fussy. I am able to swaddle her and sooth her to sleep or so I think! She wakes up two more times before I finally am able to settler her down for a GOOD nap at 2pm.

In between soothing Everly I help Hunter finish up lunch, we play for awhile and I am able to get him settled down for his nap. He goes right to sleep at 1pm which is amazing since he has been fighting his nap lately.

Hunter wakes up at 2:45pm which means I got about 45 minutes to myself at during which I tried to write this post and something else but I can’t remember now( I think it was finally cleaning up the kitchen)!

Hunter is up but still a little crabby and sleepy so I take advantage of not having to take care of a baby and get some cuddle time with my boy while we watch an episode of Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. Brian comes home from work about 3:30pm but he has to leave to take Izzy for a vet appointment.

After Mickey Everly is still sleeping so I get Hunter a snack. Everly wakes up about 4:20pm. After this things get a little fuzzy because I stopped taking notes. I am sure that Brian and I tag teamed eating dinner, feeding Hunter, soothing Everly, and entertaining Hunter once he was done eating. I seem to recall that I knew that Everly needed at least one last cat nap before going to bed for the night but I was unable to get her to sleep for that catnap and she was crabby! I am sure Brian played with Hunter while I tried to sooth her. I can’t remember if Hunter had a bath that night or not but I am sure one of us (probably Brian since I was dealing with Everly) got him ready for bed and he was probably down for the night by 8pm.

In an ideal world Everly would have gone to sleep between 8pm and 10pm and I seem to recall that was the beginning of some rough nights. I think I was able to get her to sleep at 10pm and which point I crashed BUT she wouldn’t stay asleep for more than an hour so that is why things got fuzzy!

So that’s my day in a nutshell! We are slowly settling into the “new normal.” We don’t seem to do much but yet I feel so busy! If I do get both kids to nap at the same time (like today!) it feels heavenly!

Technorati Tags: ,

Leave a comment