Everly’s First Two Weeks: “This Ain’t My First Rodeo Cowboy!”

Hi there! I have no idea where the quote in my title came from but it totally expresses how very DIFFERENT the first two weeks with Everly have felt compared to Hunter’s first two weeks. I reread what I wrote about that time in my life and even though I was honest on this blog about the challenges I was facing I don’t think I was completely honest about how overwhelmed I felt. Even though I was happier than I have ever been I also felt like those two weeks were kind of dark time. I was so lost, everything seemed so new and hard! Even Brian remembers how I was basically a zombie and how he basically fed me while I sat on the couch trying to figure out how to care for my baby.

Experience and time have definitely made these last two weeks a bit easier. Also, Everly is a different baby than Hunter. Hunter seemed to have a really hard time adjusting to life outside the womb. He cried a lot and it was really hard to sooth him. Everly has adjusted so much quickly. She usually only cries when she is hungry or gassy. She falls asleep (and usually stays asleep) after nursing or with a little jiggling and bouncing. She is nursing so much better than Hunter was and I am actually having an overactive supply this time around (which does cause a few feeding problems but nothing to be concerned about). At her 2 week appointment today I found out she has gained 1.5lbs since birth and grown 2.5 inches! Usually they hope that by 2 weeks babies are back to their birth weight!

102_3473

I know for a fact that I did not leave the house during Hunter’s first two weeks of life except to go to the doctor’s. In Everly’s short 18 days of life she has been to the doctor twice, been to a wake, gone to grandma and grandpa Johnson’s house, gone to the library, attended a children’s Christmas party, took a trip to the mall, and to the pharmacy!

102_3495

Don’t get me wrong it hasn’t been all sunshine and roses! The sleep deprivation is as bad as I remember! Miss Everly still has her days and nights mixed up. She could sleep all day if we let her and then loves to stare at us in the wee hours of the night. But things are getting better. One challenge we have at night is after I feed her and lay her down in the bassinet she grunts and generally seems uncomfortable. I am attributing this to reflux and gas. She doesn’t spit up that much but I can tell she “burps up” stuff by the noises and faces she makes. Most of the time she sleeps through this but I am still awake due to all her noise! Thinking about having her sleep in a Rock N’ Play which will elevate her head. I’m also not sure if she likes to be swaddled. Swaddling Hunter was the only way to calm him down. If I don’t swaddle Everly she flays her arms around and hits the side of the bassinet waking herself up. But when she is swaddled she seems to fight it. At first I was REALLY relaxed with her sleeping situation and even let her sleep in the bed with me (she seemed to really like this and slept really well on her side) BUT I just don’t feel it is safe.

102_3512

The hardest part for me right now is adjusting to life with a newborn AND a busy toddler. I really miss the little daily routine Hunter and I had down. Brian has done an awesome job taking over a lot of the Hunter responsibility but I still really miss it and I can tell the different routine has affected Hunter (more on this in another post). Right now am I just giving it time and I know that we will fall into a new routine eventually.

102_3493

That’s all from me for now! So glad I have many more weeks of maternity leave left and Brian still has almost 2 weeks at home too!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

