New Year’s Feast!

Hello there! Long time no blog! Long time no blog about anything besides my little man!

102_2827

I know I owe you a 10 month update on Hunter plus all the fun of our first Christmas as a family of three and I promise that I will get to those soon!

Tonight I want to share with you how we are celebrating the conclusion of 2012 and ringing in the New Year! Brian and I were never really into celebrating the New Year in a BIG way. Usually Brian’s family was still in town so we would spend the evening with them SOMETIMES making it to midnight. Well, Brian’s family is already home after the holidays and with a baby that goes to bed at 7pm and wakes up at 6am we new we would not be “tearing it up.” Brian did however suggest making some of our favorite appetizers and eating in “shifts” throughout the day! We tagged teamed watching Hunter and did some of work while he napped.

We started out with lunch; Brian made us a HUGE plate of venison steak nachos.

102_2800

He marinated some venison chops, pan fried them and put them on top of chips sprinkled with cheese and jalapeños. He put it all in the oven and when it was good and melted we took it out and topped it with salsa and avocados.

For dinner he made mushrooms stuffed with cooked shrimp, scallops and parmesan cheese.

102_2839

After dinner Brian played with Hunter while I got the next appetizer ready, twisty pizza bread! I haven’t made this since our last Packer party way back in 2011!

102_2848

So delicious and so easy! I don’t know why I don’t make this more often!

For dessert I made something REALLY special and I am proud to say a Kristin Original Recipe! A Bailey’s Irish Cream Trifle!

102_2805

I used some ideas from this recipe but made some changes to make it my own!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Devil’s Food Cake Mix (and the ingredients to make the cake)
  • 2 pkgs white chocolate instant pudding mix
  • 3 C of cold Milk
  • 1 small container of Cool Whip
  • 1 carton of Whoppers Candy (crush most of them placing them in a plastic bag and rolling over them with a rolling pin) reserve some for garnish
  • 1 C of Bailey’s Irish Cream

Directions

  • The night before you need the trifle make cake according to directions on the package
  • Once the cake is cooled poke holes in it using the handle of a wooden spoon 
  • Pour 1 Cup of Bailey’s over the cake and in the holes
  • Put in the fridge and let soak over night. The next day cut the cake into cubes.
  • Whisk the pudding and the milk together let sit for 2 minutes
  • Fold the Cool Whip into the pudding
  • Get ready to layer! You can do this any way you want. I did cake, pudding mixture, candy and repeated 3 times!

102_2807

I also considered another  layer of whip creamed with more Bailey’s mixed in but it was just a little too much!

Trifle’s are so easy and fun to get creative with. We haven’t dipped into this bad boy yet but I can’t wait to try all the flavors together!

102_2811

Well, I don’t know if we’ll make it until midnight but it was fun to get back in the kitchen!

I hope to have a 10 months update on Hunter and a reflection on 2012 and becoming a mom!

Have a fun and safe night and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

