Getting Back in the Kitchen

Well hey there! Tonight you’re in for a little treat. A post reminiscent of days past, meaning I’m not going to write about Hunter. Well, I might write a little bit about him but this post has a different focus.

One of the cool things about having a blog is that you can look back and see what you were doing at this very time last year or even farther in the past. Two years ago around this time I was teaching a TON of fitness classes, participated in a 2 hour Zumbathon, and was preparing for a 7 mile training run. Last year at this time I was 6 months pregnant and slaving away over my master’s thesis taking breaks to cook some healthy recipes. My goodness how life has changed! It’s true my posts and my life are lacking in the fitness and food department. I have failed to give update on how my plan is working out. The long and the short of it is I have kept up with my cardio, mainly with running. Today in fact I ran/walked 4.5 miles! I have not however kept up on my core strengthening workouts which I NEED to do!

Finding healthy recipes, making them, and blogging about them use to be such a big part of my life. Since Hunter was born I honestly haven’t done much cooking. I have a pretty awesome husband who plans and makes a lot of our meals. Every now and then he likes a break and asks me to make one of my “stand by” meals that we both like. I do miss cooking but am grateful that I have a husband who takes care of this chore so I can take care of my baby boy.

102_2488

Well, hunting season is upon us and this is when I would usually make meals that I knew Brian might not enjoy because I knew I’d be eating alone a lot. I must say Brian has been home a lot more this hunting season because he’s a new dad but I was just itching to get back in the kitchen and make something just for me!

Now that Hunter is going to sleep more easily and also fairly early tonight was my chance to prep something new, wonderful (at least I think it will be), and healthy for tomorrow in the crock pot.

A few weeks ago I  “Pinned” a recipe for Hearty Vegetable and Bean Soup and made it tonight with a few modifications.

102_2513

Don’t all those colors look beautiful!

Here are some of the changes I made

  • Instead of green beans I sliced up two zucchinis that need to be used up
  • I didn’t use allspice since I didn’t have any. Instead I used garam masala and turmeric
  • I didn’t use fresh parsley or a bay leaf because I didn’t have any. Instead I chopped up the leaves from the celery stalks. This adds great flavor to soup (at least this is what my mom told me!)

This was so easy to prepare and didn’t use very many dishes (trust me I had already washed this dishes once tonight and didn’t want to wash many more). You could really modify this and add any veggies or beans you have in your house.

Can’t wait to smell this simmering away tomorrow and see how it tastes!

I have an 8 month Hunter update coming soon! I just keep forgetting to take a picture with is stuffed elephant! I’ll leave you with a little bit of cuteness from bath time tonight!

102_2511

Leave a Reply

