Hunter James 7 Month Update

Seriously! This month has just flown by! I guess with my work picking up my days are a little more full and time with my little man more precious. I feel like so much has happened and Hunter has really grown and changed in the last 30 days.

102_2412

Most notably this month, just days after turning 6 months old, Hunter was able to sit unassisted!

102_2374

We’ve also continued our adventures with eating “real” food! I was planning on doing a whole post on how I made my own baby food but basically I steam the fruits and vegetables I plan on using, puree them, and then freeze the puree in an ice cube tray. Each cube is about 1 oz. so I take out 1-3 cubes for Hunter’s breakfast and dinner.

102_2384

The only food I haven’t made has been rice cereal that a co-worker of Brian gave to us since his daughter no longer eats it. But now with the discovery of high levels of arsenic in rice we are using it sparely. I would like to try and make my own baby cereal soon.

Hunter LOVES to eat! He gets super excited when I come to the table with his bowl and spoon.

102_2389

So far Hunter has eaten:

  • Bananas
  • Avocado
  • Peaches
  • Pears
  • Peas
  • Plums
  • Green Beans (from Grandpa’s garden!)
  • Sweet Potato
  • Squash

He seems to like them all! He prefers his food cool or room temperature and is still liking things to be pureed pretty smooth. Chunks sometimes surprise and upset him!

102_2356

We are still working on sleep. I mentioned last month that Hunter was now sleeping in the crib and not the swing (thank goodness!) and falling asleep on his own. We had some really good nights where he slept for a 7 hour stretch and once he even slept 10 hours straight. Lately though he’s back to 3-4 hours stretches. Not really sure what is going on there. His naps are still frustratingly short so I know he is short on day time sleep. He’s also had a stuffy nose for about a week and we aren’t sure if it is a cold or teething that is waking him up. Our pediatrician said that since he is breastfed he will more than likely need to eat 1-2 times a night so usually when he wakes up, after waiting awhile to see if he’ll fall back asleep, I feed him. I am just thankful that after I feed him he goes back to sleep on his own and fairly quickly. This is a HUGE change from when he was 4-5 months old. For the most part he falls asleep on his own. There are a few occasions where he gets over tired and can’t fall asleep on his own for naps and we have to rock him but they are few and far between. Still not sure if that is what we are “suppose” to be doing but oh well!

This past month I can really see Hunter’s personality shining through. He has definite likes and dislikes. He loves to watch me dry my hair. I usually lay him on a towel in the bathroom and give him some toys to play with. Once I turn the hair dryer on he just stares at me, mesmerized. He loves watching Izzy, petting her, and having her lick him. He also loves bouncing and playing  in his jumperoo.

102_2353

Now that the weather is cooler but not yet cold we’ve been out for more walks. Hunter is even able to sit in the stroller without the car seat. I think he enjoys seeing more of the world this way!

102_2380

So far, I haven’t seen any evidence of separation anxiety. He still loves his mamma but he warms up to other people fairly quickly. I’ve taken him to the YMCA child watch a few times and he snuggles right up to the ladies there. He also hung out with one of the high school students I work with at church for the entire length of our outdoor service!

102_2366

Hunter has also been introduced (for better or worse!) to football season! He and his daddy can often be found cheering on (or yelling at) the Green Bay Packers.

102_2368

Day care is still going really well! I feel so blessed to have found such a wonderful care giver in Cassandra and a fun companion for Hunter in Lily!

P9115304

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, I guess that’s about it for this month’s update. I’ll leave you with some fun photos I took outside the day Hunter turned seven months. His adorable personality really shines through in these. I am so lucky to be his mommy!

102_2413 102_2414

102_2416 102_2417

 102_2418 102_2419

102_2421                             102_2422

I love him more than words can describe!

Leave a Reply

