A Woman With A Plan

Hello there! It’s another one of those nights when I’ve gotten Hunter to bed quiet early. I know that I should go to bed soon (since he still isn’t sleeping through the night!) but I am staying awake because I don’t want to get too comfortable or sleepy just in case he thinks it’s a nap and he wakes up after 45 minutes! So far so good!

So, awhile back I lamented the fact that I really hadn’t gotten back into the swing of regular exercise but I knew that when I did manage to find time I felt so good! I think I finally have a plan and some motivation to get back into some regular routine as far as exercise goes. I got my idea for a plan from Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point.  When she was pregnant her “plan” was to exercise at least three times a week. She didn’t lock herself into a specific type of exercise just a goal of doing SOMETHING 3 times a week. This is totally something I can do, even if it is walking. I also want to make it a goal to do the core exercises on my Be Fit Mom DVD (full review to come!) at least 3-4 times a week, so far I’ve only done it once! I’ve going to try and do this at night when Hunter goes to sleep because even if he thinks it’s a nap the exercises only take 35 minutes plus there are also some stretches and they are really relaxing. And finally I set my sites on a race I want to run the Friar Frolic 5K at my alma mater in October. I got together with some of my girlfriends this past week and our conversation turned to exercise (or lack there of) and my friend Emily brought up this race so we’ve made it a pact to run it together. I may not be able to run the whole way but I am at least going to try to run/walk it! It will be good to have my friends sharing this goal with me! I even created a little chart to track my progress and remind me of my workouts. I am not pressuring myself to run/walk 3 times a week (I know some weeks I’ll only get in 2 because of teaching at the Y) but I don’t want to move on to the next week until I’ve done the previous week’s workouts 3 times.

In order for me to get in my runs I know I will have to do some of them with Hunter in the jogging stroller. I took it out today for the first time for a little practice spin.

102_2295

It was an epic fail! I didn’t know I was suppose to lock the front wheel and when I figured out that is what I needed to do I didn’t know how to do it! The whole thing bumped and jiggled and did not ride very smooth. I knew I couldn’t run with it so settled for a long walk, which was also quite annoying with the jiggling wheel.  Hunter loved it and was laughing the whole time, except for at the end when he fell asleep! When I got home Brian figured it out for me so I hope to have a more successful run next time!

Well, it’s been almost and hour and Hunter is still asleep (in his crib not the swing!) so I better get myself some shut eye before he wakes up again! Can’t wait to start my new plan! A healthy momma is a happy momma!

Technorati Tags:
One response to “A Woman With A Plan

  1. Pingback: Getting Back in the Kitchen | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

