Hunter James: 3 Month Update

Seriously? How can my baby be three months old already???

102_2017

 

These last three months have gone by in a flash. It is really hard to put into words the absolute joy I feel being Hunter’s mom. Sure the sleepless nights are rough. Trying to figure out how to feed him and make sure he is comfortable eating is challenging. Thinking I’ve got him all figured out just to have him flip a switch and do something completely different is frustrating. But, looking into those big blue eyes, seeing that toothless smile, and hearing his adorable baby laugh makes it all worth it. I seriously cannot imagine what my life would be like without this darling face in my life!

102_2008

 

My life has been completely transformed and while I admit it was hard to accept in the beginning now I am embracing it whole heartedly. It is so amazing how much he has changed in three months. He went from 8lbs 1oz to 12lbs 13oz the last time we took him into the doctor (which was Thursday since he was running a fever and seemed sick).

5 Days Old (3) 102_2021

5 Days Old                                                                12 Weeks Old

Even a few weeks ago I couldn’t imagine taking him anywhere for a long period of time but now I feel a little more comfortable taking him out in public. He stays content, alert and amused for longer periods of time.  We have even utilized the “nursing room” at the mall, and it is very nice!

I’d like to say that my life is getting back to “normal” but in actuality we are all adjusting to a “new normal” which. I still haven’t gotten back into exercising as much as I use to. I don’t think I will get back to level I was at for some time and I am totally ok with that. I have gotten braver and even took Hunter to the child watch at the Y this week (but then he got sick afterwards so I felt bad!). I have backed off on running for now. It was getting too hard to coordinate Brian’s work schedule plus Hunter’s schedule and running wasn’t really feeling that good to me anyway. The yoga instructor who taught my prenatal classes suggested working on regaining core strength before trying to run. I think that is sound advice! I will start teaching cycling after Memorial Day and hope to some how get back into strength training, even if it is at home.

I know it will be tough to go back to work, even though I get to bring Hunter with me. I enjoy being on “Hunter Time.” Many mornings when he wakes up for the day (usually 7:00am), I bring him into our bed to feed him. Sometimes we both drift off to sleep for another 90 minutes! It’s glorious! It will be tough actually having to be somewhere at a certain time. I’m also worried with how it will affect Hunter’s routine (I’d say schedule but we don’t really have one yet).

Becoming a mom and falling in love with my son has been such a wonderful experience so far. I know that there will be more challenges and bumps along our journey but the overwhelming love and joy I feel towards him will carry me through. I love being a mom! I am so happy to have him in my life and I can not wait to continue on this journey!

102_2001

Lounging in bed on my first Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

