5 Week Update:The many faces of Hunter James

Hi there! I am experiencing a brief moment of quite where I don’t feel like crawling in bed for a nap so I thought it was time for an update!

Yesterday marked 5 weeks since Hunter was born! I am continuing to learn more and more about my little man and growing in my role as “mom.”

102_1886 102_1887

102_1888 102_1890

He is so stink’n cute!!

I am learning the importance of SLEEP and I don’t mean just for me! When Hunter sleeps well at night and takes some good naps during the day he is a much more pleasant baby and it is a lot easier to interpret his needs and sooth him effectively.

During the last week I got really brave and took Hunter out in public for a long period of time, once to a craft fair and today to a baby expo. This meant nursing in public which was something that kind of terrified me! But I knew I had to get over it, because the beauty of breastfeeding is that as long as baby is with me he can eat! Both times I did it in public it went okay, definitely not as comfortable as sitting on my couch with my Boppy and footstool but it worked! I’m sure it will only get easier. It was nice to get out of the house and not feel like I was tethered to the couch.My next big “experiment” will be to leave the house without Hunter for a longer period of time. I can’t wait to get back to yoga and it would be nice to go out to dinner with just Brian. Still, I’m  nervous and scared about it.

I’ve also been experimenting with baby wearing!

102_1910

That is the Baby K’Tan. My sister-in-law gave me a Baby Bjorn which I tried and liked but I wanted something a little more natural without all the buckles so I tried the K’Tan. I also like that his feet are tucked inside instead of dangling. You can wear the K’Tan several different ways too.  I’ve only used it at home but so far really like it! I think the Bjorn will come in handy when I want to get stuff done around the house and go for longer walks as it is a little more supportive. But I think I’ll use the K’Tan for going to the store and church and just hanging out at home.

My mom and mother-in-law have been very helpful in accompanying me out of the house and coming over to help with the little guy and just keep me company!

Grandma Charlene, soothing Hunter after a particularly rough day/night when he (and I!) didn’t sleep much.

102_1907

He still doesn’t like baths too much but last week he was much more tolerable than in the past!

102_1895

Even though I am still tired, I get frustrated when I don’t know how to sooth my baby, and I worry that I am doing something “wrong” I can not believe how every day my love grows and grows for my son! He is such a precious blessing in my life!

102_1901

102_1900

Leave a Reply

