Hunter 1 Month Update: Learning So Much

Well hello there blog! With all the new things to learn as a new mom I must say my blog has been the farthest thing from my mind! I keep wanting to update but when I do have a free chunk of time my priorities are sleep, eating, or showering!

It should be noted that I started to write this blog on Wednesday when I “thought” I had a pretty good handle on understanding Hunter’s cues and needs but then YESTERDAY happened! I think/hope he was going through a growth spurt. He wanted to eat every two hours and would barely sleep for more than 30 minutes. He would wake up howling! It was terrible! Not to mention it started the night before so I was pretty much a walking zombie! Brian took over last night and got Hunter to sleep for two hours so I could get some rest. After that he seemed to mellow out and today is going much better!

102_1881

I can not believe that it has been 1 month since my little angel was born. I also can’t believe that I have been living with and adjusting to a newborn for that amount of time. Honestly it’s hard to remember what life was like before Hunter came along. I can honestly say that things have gotten better since my last update. Mostly the feeding issue has gotten better. It was shortly after my two week post that I weaned Hunter off the nipple shield, he went in for his two week appointment, and had reached his birth weight. At that point I stopped pumping which saved a lot of time and frustration. I also stopped waking him up at night to eat. I still try to keep his day time feedings to no more than 3 hours a part, sometimes he wants to eat more frequently which I am more than happy to do! I let him tell me when he’s hungry at night and SOMETIMES we get a 4 hour stretch of sleep! We go in to the doctor next Monday for his 1 month appointment, I am hoping he has gained even more weight, he seems to be filling out to me!

3 Weeks Old and not happy about having his picture taken!

102_1874

1 Month Old! Wow! Same shirt as last week! I’ll explain our sudden lack of clothing later!

102_1884

I am also learning that Hunter is the one who directs my days. We don’t have a set schedule per say but he generally wakes up to eat and get a diaper change, then he is alert for awhile and I play with him, talk to him, maybe change a diaper and then he gets tired again and goes down for a nap. In theory, during the day, this little process would repeat every three hours but that is not always how it goes. I was really hoping to get back to my favorite yoga class on Wednesdays at noon and Grandma and Grandpa Johnson offered to come over and watch Hunter. BUT after kind of a rough night ( had a hard time getting him to sleep and getting up more than once to eat) and kind of a cranky morning I was pretty sure it wouldn’t happen. Sure enough Hunter FINALLY went down for a GOOD nap at 10:00am. I knew he SHOULD wake up at 12:00pm in which case I couldn’t go to class because he would need to eat. But he MIGHT wake up before in which case I could go. But I knew for SURE I wouldn’t wake him up before that! I find if he naps well during the day he sleeps better at night. I know that doesn’t really make sense but so far that’s what I am observing.

Some other things I’m learning: just because a piece of baby clothing says it’s a certain size doesn’t mean it will fit your baby! We are having an unusually warm March here, we’ve hit record highs for several days now with temperatures in the 70’s and 80’s! While this had been awesome for getting out for a walk with Hunter but my wardrobe for Hunter seems to be lacking. Most people gave us warmer clothes in newborn and 0-3 month sizes because March is “suppose to” be cold. I also found out that even though Hunter is technically “0” that doesn’t mean 0-3 will fit him, most things are too big yet. On the other hand I did have some short sleeve onesies that say 3-6months and they seem to fit him just fine. It’s so confusing! He has such cute clothes and I want him to be able to wear them all! I also worry that he’s too hot or too cold!

Also, not all diapers are created equal! We were give a TON of diapers at one of my showers in several different brands. One particular brand just does not work for us! They ALWAYS leak and I end up changing Hunter and my clothes several times a day! With a lack of options for both of us and little time to do laundry this is not helpful! I am glad that we got try so many different brands for free before figuring out which ones we liked.

Play mat time!

102_1869

I’m also learning to do things on my own. Brian went back to work this week and he was my right hand man getting chores done and making me meals each day. It’s been kind of tricky and I often times find myself sucking down a smoothie super fast for breakfast but I’ve managed. I really appreciate it when a friend offers to stop by and bring lunch though!

We also took Hunter on his first trip to the grocery store. Things started out fine. He was content and looking around from his car seat that we placed in the cart. Then I had to go to a different part of the store and Brian took the cart. As I started heading back towards where Brian and Hunter were I heard this terrible crying and I new it was my little boy! I rushed over and pulled him out of the car seat holding him close to me. He immediately calmed down and fell asleep. Guess next time I’ll bring him in a front pack or just stay home!

Rocking with Dad!

102_1867

One final new mom adventure was that I attended a support group at the hospital where I delivered Hunter called “Balance After Baby” It’s for new moms and you are welcome to bring your babies with. I decided to join this group because I needed to get out of the house and don’t feel comfortable bringing Hunter with me to most places or even leaving him with someone. It is also nice to talk with other new moms about their experiences. There was only one other mom in attendance and she had 3 week old twins! I plan on attending weekly if I can.

I guess that is all for now! Hunter is down for a nap and I think I might regret not taking one too!

Live in babysitter!

102_1877

2 responses to “Hunter 1 Month Update: Learning So Much

  1. Pingback: Hunter James 8 Month Update | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Everly Laura: 1 Month Update..er… 6 Week Update | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

