Hunter’s First Two Weeks:What They Don’t Tell You!

Hello there! Forgive me for not writing much but I’m sure you will understand that we have been VERY busy over here adjusting to life with our new addition! To say that this new “normal” will take some getting use to would be a HUGE understatement and I must be honest it has been very overwhelming at times. For over nine months I knew that my life was going to change but I had no idea just how much or what life with a newborn would be like. Fortunately I have many good friends who have shared their advice with me for getting through these first couple of rough weeks. And they all tell me that you forget these tough times that’s why nobody ever really talks about it. I thought I would write about some of the things I don’t think anyone tells you about being a new mom.

1. You will fall even MORE in love with you husband!

102_1806

102_1840

Brian has been absolutely AMAZING! Not only has he taken over the house work (they told me I couldn’t do house work for a month!) as well as taking care of meals but he is so fun to watch with Hunter. I know that Brian did not have  a lot of experience with babies, in fact he never changed a diaper before Hunter. To see him cuddle and interact with Hunter just melts my heart!

2. You will cry…A LOT! I don’t think a day has gone by in the last two weeks that I haven’t cried. Most of the time I cry tears of happiness just looking at my little guy. I think about how long we waited for him and I am overcome with joy at this perfect little creature that is mine.

102_1835

Other times I cry because I am just overwhelmed with how my life has changed, how I don’t feel like “myself” anymore I am just waiting for life with Hunter to feel “normal.” I also cry because I am frustrated and don’t know what to do for my baby. So yeah, lots of crying, not to mention my hormones are going CRAZY of course!

3. Breastfeeding is HARD! I have had some trouble with breastfeeding and right now it is causing me the most  frustration. Basically, when we were in the hospital Hunter had a hard time latching on so the nurse suggested a nipple shield. They then told me that because I was using a shield I would need to pump to help my milk come in and keep up my supply. They said to pump 3-4 times a day and suggested seeing a lactation consultant once we left the hospital. We did and they observed that Hunter did not gain enough weight so they suggested pumping after EVERY feeding except for maybe one at night. We feed Hunter what I pump from the previous session from a bottle. They also told me I HAVE to fee him every three hours. Well, it seems every three hours he is sleeping! By the time I wake him up, get him to nurse, have Brian feed him the bottle, AND pump it takes about an hour. Then we only have 2 hours until the next session. I feel tethered to our house since pumping is so exposing. Honestly I wouldn’t mind nursing in public but I can’t really pump in public. Plus it makes it hard to invite people over knowing we have to go through this whole feeding regime.

4. You will not sleep. PERIOD.

102_1837

Before I got pregnant I thoroughly enjoyed a good night’s sleep of at least 8 hours. I was pretty regimented about making sure I got a healthy amount of sleep. When I was pregnant my sleep patterns definitely changed and I thought that they were preparing me for when the baby arrived but I was wrong! I think most new moms experience not sleeping because their newborn wakes them up to feed. I on the other hand have to wake mine up to feed. I set my alarm clock twice in the middle of the night and once for early morning to get him up for a feeding. It about kills me to have to wake him up from a peaceful slumber not to mention I am half awake myself. I am hoping once our breast feeding situation improves I can let him feed on demand, which probably means he’ll start waking me up in the middle of the night!

5. You will feel an INCREDIBLE amount of love for this tiny little creature that is dependent on you.

102_1823

102_1829

Despite this challenging time I am so in love with this little guy! When times get tough all I have to do is look at this face and remember how worth it will be. I think about his future and wonder what kind of little boy, teenager, adult he will grow up to be and remember that this is just a short moment in time that I need to enjoy.

With that I must sign off as there is a cuddly little boy asleep on my chest who needs some love’n!

Technorati Tags: ,,
2 responses to “Hunter’s First Two Weeks:What They Don’t Tell You!

  1. Pingback: Just One of Many “Lasts” | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Everly’s First Two Weeks: “This Ain’t My First Rodeo Cowboy!” | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

