Update: A Plan

Well, it seems we have made some progress! The midwife said I am 1 almost 2cm dilated and 75% effaced which she said was good progress from last week! He was able to strip my membranes and she said one of three things could happen. 1. Nothing, 2. I could start having contractions but not be in labor, 3. I could go into labor. Since my appointment I have definitely felt more cramping but this is normal, I definitely don’t think it’s labor…yet. Everything looked good on the ultrasound, so good that I didn’t need the fetal non-stress test. The plan for now is, if I haven’t gone into labor by Friday I will go back for another ultrasound and to be checked by the midwife. If all looks good at that appointment we will repeat the same procedure Monday. For sure I will be induced on Tuesday if I haven’t gone into labor on my own since they don’t like pregnancies to go beyond 42 weeks. Technically I guess I could argue my case that my due date is wrong  and have them let me go longer BUT honestly I am ready to have this baby! Even based on my calculations he will be 40 weeks so all will be well.  It is good to have a plan and at least an end in sight. The midwife felt like I would go into labor on my own and I hope that she is right. Well, that’s all for now! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

