What’s a girl to do?

Hi there! Guess what? Still pregnant! Now that I am officially on maternity leave I bet you are wondering just exactly what I am doing with ALL my free time (or maybe you don’t care Smile). Well, I obviously have more time to blog so I’ll tell you! I’m sure it will be good to look back at this entry to see “the calm before the storm!”

I have been doing A TON of reading!

102_1770

Honestly, I can’t even tell you the last time I read this much, especially since the last two and half years I’ve been in grad school and most of the reading I did was for class. I read in the morning when I wake up too early (I’ve been waking up at 5am or earlier lately!) and don’t want to get out of bed yet. Brian can usually find me reading in the afternoon and I read before I go to bed. I get all my books at the library. I don’t have a Nook or Kindle.  I debated getting one since once the little one comes I don’t know if I’ll have time to go to the library but I didn’t really want to spend the money on the item or the books and I wasn’t sure how many books you could “borrow” from the library on those devices. Maybe some day. My new favorite author is Diane Chamberlain. Her books are really page turners! I highly recommend her as an author!

Another great FREE resource from the library, DVDs.

102_1771

Even though we have Netflix on demand I thought I’d get some chick flicks for when Brian is at work.

I’ve also been doing a little cooking and “precooking.”

102_1769

Yesterday I made some Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili. I read on Stephanie O’Dea’s  blog (one of my go to blogs for crockpot recipes) that, “when you chop up 0ne onion you might as well chop up 10!” She suggested that when you prepare a recipe in the crock pot you should double up on the ingredients and put the second half in a gallon size freezer bag. Then you freeze the ingredients to make at another time. I added all the ingredients to the bag except for the broth, since I didn’t have enough and I think it’s easy to just add at the time of cooking. Now I have a meal all ready to go for when the baby comes!

I also washed up and sterilized baby bottles, pacifiers and the components of my breast pump. I plan on nursing but I figured just case I have trouble doing it I should have everything else prepared.

102_1772

Yes, those are the tubes to the breast pump hanging from my cupboard handle, thanks to the suggestion of my sister-in-law Julie! Also, how do you like my “grass.”

102_1773

My friend Becky who had a baby in August gave this to me as a shower gift. Yesterday when I was washing stuff up I said, “Where am I going to put all this stuff?” And Brian said, “Get the grass!”

I also try and get out of the house at least once day, usually to exercise and maybe run a small errand or two. Helps me from going stir crazy! It also forces me to shower and put on “real” clothes otherwise I might stay in pajamas all day long!

I try not to watch too much TV because it’s really easy for me to get sucked into some dumb mindless shows and I’d rather watch shows or movies I really want to watch when Brian gets home.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to! I know shortly that I will look back on these quite days following my own agenda with fondness but I still CAN NOT wait to meet our little guy!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

