One Last Adventure B.C.

When my mom and dad sometimes talk about great trips or vacations before my brother and I came along the refer to that time as B.C. (before children). Well, I wanted to have one last adventure out of town with Brian before our little guy comes along. We contacted our good friends Shannon and Brian Gardner to see if they were available  this weekend and if we could come to the Twin Cities to see them. Of course they said, “Sure!” so we took off Friday after work with no real agenda in mind.

One of my requests was going out for some REALLY GOOD Italian food! Well Gardner came through by taking us to a family owned place called Yarusso’s

How can you not have  good time with these two?

102_1647

It was also good to spend some quality time with Brian.

102_1649

I had the Florentine Ravioli which was stuffed with spinach and cheese. It had the most amazing red sauce I have ever tasted! I cannot put my finger on what made it so good but it was truly unique  I will dreaming about that sauce for a long time!

102_1650

After dinner we headed back to the Gardner’s house where a traditional girls against boys game of Euchre ensued.

IMG_0107[1]

The next morning Shannon prepared an AMAZING egg strata which I can not believe I didn’t take picture of! After breakfast we headed over to the Summit Brewery for a little tour and some beer sampling.

Brian perusing the variety of beer on tap!

102_1654

Baby’s first brewery tour.

102_1658

My sample of beer, H2O

102_1667

After the tour and sampling we headed over to a St. Paul Fire Station to visit Brian’s friend Todd who is and EMT and Firefighter. Here’s Todd in his “office” the ambulance.

102_1668

Brian also got to hop in the fire truck!

102_1671

We headed across the street to an Irish Bar for some appetizers (forgot to take pictures) we wanted to eat light because we were saving room for a planned BIG feast for dinner.

We headed back to the Gardner’s. I was still feeling pretty under the weather with my cold so I took a nap and also spent some time on the couch reading. While I was resting the rest of the crew was working hard to prepare our dinner feast!

The Brian’s put together bacon wrapped duck and venison for the grill

102_1684

Shannon made a pecan pie just for my Brian!

102_1683

She also made some amazing carrots and red cabbage

102_1685

Gardner also made some FABULOOUS English muffin bread.

102_1678

My plate!

102_1688

So good!

This morning we headed over to our favorite breakfast spots The Capital View Café. I planned on having their cinnamon swirl French toast but when the waitress told us the special was caramel apple French toast I had to go with that!

102_1690

So good!

After breakfast we packed up and headed home! It was such a fun and relaxing weekend with some very good friends! Exactly what I was hoping for on our pseudo “babymoon.”  We know that life will be different with a baby in our lives but we hope we can continue to have new adventures with the Gardner’s with baby in tow. Thanks Brian and Shannon for a great weekend!

To read more about some of our previous adventure with the Gardner’s checkout!

Live Action Blogging

More Adventures!

Our Adventure Continues!

The City Mouse and the Country Mouse

And It Ended With A Blast!

Three Musts!

Leave a Reply

