Graduate

Hello! Today was a very big day for me! I graduated with my Master’s degree in Servant Leadership from Viterbo University. So glad that my little guy got to share the day with me!

102_1535

I just love this picture!

All day I kept saying, “I just can’t believe I’m graduating again!” When I graduated with my undergrad degree 9 years ago I never thought about getting a Master’s degree. When I joined the Master’s in Servant Leadership program a little over two years ago I was just looking for a change in my life. I had been told that the program would be a good fit for me and it was! I just kept taking classes, reading, reading, reading, writing papers, and before I knew it I was writing my thesis. Writing my thesis was definitely challenging but I actually really enjoyed the process. Last weekend I presented my research to the faculty and my classmates.

IMG_2421

Tom, one of my teachers and actually a life long friend and mentor.

IMG_2423

Sister Georgia and Matthew my advisers for my research. I also had them as teachers.

And today I got to celebrate all that hard work and dedication! I actually really LOVED my Master’s program. It’s hard to describe it actually. I took away so much from the lectures, the books I had to read, and most of all from the stories and experiences of my classmates. Not only did I learn about a unique style of leadership but I changed my outlook and my attitude towards how I approach the work I do at the Church and really how I live my life.

Today someone asked me what I am going to do with my degree. Honestly right now I don’t really know, I’m going to focus on having my baby and learning how to be a mom. I do know that the things I’ve learned will stay with me and guide me not only in my professional life but also in my personal life and my relationship with others.

Now, some more fun pictures from the day!

102_1530

Brian and me! He was such a great source of support to me!

102_1531

Brian, his mom, and me!

102_1534

Me and my mom!

102_1536

My mom and dad with me.

102_1537

My brother, mom, me, and dad!

Last spring when I sat down with my adviser to figure out what courses I needed to take and when, my goal was to graduate this winter. I prefer winter graduation (I finished my undergrad in December) since there are less people and its short not to mention all the Christmas decorations. At the time I had not idea I would be having a baby in February! Everything seemed to work out just perfectly! Now I plan to focus all my extra time on getting ready for this baby!

It was a great day and a wonderful celebration! It feels good to be done!

One response to “Graduate

Leave a Reply

