Showered with Love!

Hi there! Well, yesterday was quite the day! Not only did I present the research from my thesis paper to some of the faculty and students at my grad school but I also had my first baby shower!

First of all my thesis presentation went REALLY well! Honestly I wasn’t too nervous but there was a little doubt in the back of my mind as to how it would all go. I have heard other people give there presentations but it’s a whole different story when you are trying to present your own work. I have never really done anything like this so I didn’t really know if I was doing it “right.” All I knew was that I worked really hard and gave it my best. I guess that was all I needed to do! My advisers and classmates were all very complimentary. They said that I was able to summarize all the work in my paper very well and also generated a lot of really good questions which means my topic was of interest and could lead to other research. I have to meet with my advisers one more time tomorrow and make a few changes to my final draft as well as some grammar and spelling fixes then I’ll submit my final paper and REALLY be done!

It felt so good to have my presentation done so that I could relax and celebrate my baby with my very good friends and family.

102_1514

My very best friends from high school  showered me and my baby with love! I only took a few pictures but my mom took a ton so I hope to share those with you soon.

102_1515

Isn’t that the most darling diaper cake?! I invited my girlfriends  from high school and their moms, my girlfriends who live in town, some of my neighbors from when I was growing up, my sister-in-law and her mom, and of course my mom and mother-in-law. We played some pretty fun games including identify the melted candy bar in the diaper and a game my friend Marianne thought up where the guests made a baby out of toilet paper. It was pretty funny! I got a TON of wonderful presents all of which I know will be useful when the little guy comes. And of course there was yummy food like these cake balls that looked like babies!

102_1516

It was such a great party and I felt so loved and so special! I am so blessed to have such great friends and family!

Hopefully now that my thesis work is done I’ll be able to blog more and maybe even get back in the kitchen to share some recipes! Or maybe I’ll just take it easy as I get ready for baby!

Have a great start to your week!

Leave a Reply

