Breaking and Baking

Hey friends! Happy Monday to you! Hope your day is going well. Mine has been pretty busy but productive. I promised I’d be back to share some cooking experiments I’ve been doing lately!

So, as I am sure I’ve mentioned a TON of times I currently writing my master’s thesis which is due in approximately 47 days! Essentially, I could have taken two semesters to write this BUT with the baby coming I knew I just wanted to get this MAJOR project over with and graduate in December! I pretty much feel like every spare moment I have I work on my paper. However, I’ve gotten very good at taking study breaks and one of my favorite ways to take a break is to cook something! A girl’s gotta eat right? Now that it is fall I find myself making a lot of fall inspired soups and even doing some baking ( I hardly ever bake!).

Last weekend I made a VERY easy pumpkin soup!

102_1356

We had a whole pumpkin in our CSA box two weeks ago and I thought there was no better way to use it up than in soup. I had to bake the pumpkin first which was pretty much like baking a squash.

This recipe was SO easy and would you believe I actually used a written recipe and not one I found on the internet??

102_1358

In one of our Co-Op flyers they had printed this recipe it seemed pretty straight forwards so I saved. It was really easy. All I did was sauté 2 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, two jalapenos (also in our CSA box) 2 small onions (CSA too!) in some oil. I added the broth and the cooked pumpkin and let it simmer for awhile. The pumpkin was still pretty chunky so I used my immersion blender to make it creamy. I did not make the chipotle sour Cream. This soup was pretty good but a little bland. I could taste the heat from the jalapenos but that was about it. I added some salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and parsley and it was okay. It was one of those recipes that tastes better the next day. Still a very easy comforting fall soup.

Last night I made another REALLY easy soup in my crockpot, Sausage and Lentil Stew.

102_1394

This was SO easy. All I had to do was chop up a carrot and the sausage. I used venison Italian sausage of course and threw them in the crockpot with everything else. The beef broth, sausage, and tomatoes really provided a nice flavor and of course I LOVE lentils. The recipe suggested serving it over cornbread. I didn’t think I really wanted to bother with making cornbread but after working on my paper for awhile, and about an hour before the stew was done I looked up cornbread recipes on the internet. They all seemed so easy! I tried this one.

So easy and it turned out beautifully!

102_1391

The stew tasted really good over the cornbread, a nice contrast of sweat and savory! Even Brian liked it, although he said he could do without the lentils!

So, that’s what I’ve been up to besides writing a thesis and getting ready for baby!

I’ve got a busy week on tap. Hope to be back soon with a Baby Sneaker Update!

Technorati Tags:
One response to “Breaking and Baking

  1. Pingback: Getting Back in the Kitchen | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

