Baby Sneaker Update: Week 21

Hello there! I just got back from a beautiful walk with Izzy. We are having a little bit of an Indian Summer here, today the high was almost 80*! The fall colors in our neighborhood are AMAZING! Some the trees look like they are on fire! All the reds, oranges, and yellows I am loving it!

This week the little guy is the length of carrot, approx. 101/2 inches and weighing 3/4 of a lb. I think next week he’ll actually weigh a whole pound!

102_1262

I am so grateful to my friend Aleecia who lent me some short sleeved maternity shirts which will definitely come in handy during this warm week we’re having!

Here’s the weekly “bump” photo!

102_1263

I am definitely feeling more flutters, especially when I am working on thesis and hunched over the computer. The little guy reminds me to sit up straight and give him some room! I also think I felt a little something more than a flutter (like and actual kick) this morning when I was at yoga and in a squat position.  I’m pretty sure Izzy can sense or feel something. Last night she had her head on tummy and sat up pretty abruptly. I didn’t feel anything but something sure made Izzy move!

I stepped on the scale for the first time in looooooooong time and saw a number after the 1 that I haven’t seen in 10 years! I guess I wasn’t too shocked. Surprisingly I’m not stressing too much about my weight gain. I think I might have gained more then I am “suppose” to but my midwife hasn’t said anything. The exception of a few indulgences I feel like I’ve cleaned up my eats pretty well and of course I am still staying active. My workout plan for this week is:

Sunday: Long walk with Izzy

Monday: Group strength class (I was only going to attend but the teacher was sick so I taught)

Tuesday: Prenatal yoga

Wednesday: Swimming and regular yoga

Thursday: Teach GST and Cycling

Friday: Teach Cycling

Saturday: Probably swim

I feel like the only weight I’ve gained is in my belly no where else so I’m not going to worry about it…for now!

I decided that when I’m not reading research articles for my thesis I should start reading up on how to actually take care of this baby! Of course I’ve taken care of babies before but not full time! I know that I can read all I want but I won’t know for sure how to handle things until he’s here. Every baby is different so I think as many tips as I can learn will be helpful. Not to mention all my great friends and relatives who are already great moms who can give me tips. So far here’ve what I plan on reading.

102_1265

What to Expect The First Year, even though  I didn’t read What to Expect When You’re Expecting a friend of mine lent it to me and I think it will be a good resource.

Baby 411, my sister-in-law bought me a book by the same authors Baby Bargain’s which I have found to be very helpful in preparing for baby so I thought Baby 411 would be a good quick reference book.

The Happiest Baby on the Block, this one got some good reviews on Amazon and focuses on developing good sleep habits.

It seems like a lot to read!

102_1264

Hope I can keep up!

The main part of the nursery is ALMOST done! In fact Brian’s working on it right now! Maybe some pictures later this week! I’ve also been contemplating how life is going to change once our baby boy is here but this post is a little long already! More thoughts to come!

One response to “Baby Sneaker Update: Week 21

  1. Pingback: Remembering a Special Day | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

