Steppin’ Out in Pink

Hi there! Whew! Another busy weekend! I’m in between work events and putting my feet up before I rush off to the next thing. Despite having lots of work obligations this weekend I’ve still been able to have some fun and family time.

Yesterday I participated in my first ever Steppin’ Out in Pink walk for breast cancer. I have heard about this event that takes place in our town the past few years but have always had something going on during  the day of the event. My sister-in-law called earlier this week and told me that they would be in town this weekend and were doing the walk and wondered if I would like to join them. Since this was something I always wanted to do, I love hanging out with my sister-in-law and nieces, it was for a good cause, AND I would get some good exercise I agreed of course!

It was a beautiful day as we started out our walk!

100_0343

The best part about this 5 mile walk is along the route they have fun things to stop and do. First up was a writing on a rock in remembrance of someone who was affected by breast cancer and then placing in in a rock garden.

My nieces coloring on their rocks.

100_0344

Placing the rock in the garden.

100_0345

Another cool thing about this walk was that everyone was given pink t-shirts and most people wear them. With over 5,000 participants all you can see is a sea of pink!

100_0346

At each mile you got a string of sparkly beads and a sticker. At mile two the University marching band was playing. Half way through the walk we had muffins and bananas, Natalie was pretty happy about this!

100_0347

I was pretty proud of my nieces for making it the whole 5 miles! Natalie only had to be carried for a little while!

100_0349

Our whole group (minus me!) at the end of the walk!

100_0351

My sister-in-law Caren, her Aunt Bernie, her Aunt Donna, her sister Sue, her mom Carole,  Rosalia and Natalie.

At the end of the walk they also had food, a show choir that preformed and tons of vendors. It was such a fun time. We all agreed we would do this again next year and bring Baby Sneaker!

Well, I have to head back to church pretty soon but not to forget the importance of today I leave you with a prayer that was read at church this morning. These words come from Pope Benedict when he visited Ground Zero in April of 2008.

O God of love, compassion, and healing,

look on us, people of many different faiths and traditions,

who gather today at this site,

the scene of incredible violence and pain.

We ask you in your goodness

to give eternal light and peace

to all who died here–

the heroic first-responders:

our fire fighters, police officers,

emergency service workers, and Port Authority personnel,

along with all the innocent men and women

who were victims of this tragedy

simply because their work or service

brought them here on September 11, 2001.

One response to “Steppin’ Out in Pink

  1. Love it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

