Mother Daughter Extravaganza

Hey there! How’s your Monday treating you? Mine has been pretty good. I seem to be getting my mojo back and feel like I accomplished a lot today. I cleaned the house, taught a fitness class, did a load of laundry, and prepped a healthy casserole to eat throughout the week for lunch. I’ll be sharing that recipe soon.

Remember way back at Christmas when I gave my mom a homemade gift certificate to a dinner theater trip with myself and my aunt and cousin? Well yesterday was our trip! We traveled to the Fireside Theater to see the show David. Before the play we enjoyed a few drinks and dinner.

My Aunt and Cousin.

102_1108

My mom and me!

102_1109

I don’t know about you but when I dine somewhere that is considered “banquet” dining (you don’t order and everybody gets the same meal, they are feeding hundreds of people) I don’t expect the food to be that great but this meal was pretty delicious.

We started with an orchard salad.

102_1110

Strawberries, Flame Grapes, Golden Pineapple, Grapefruit, and Mandarin Oranges over Spinach Leaves, Belgium Endive, and Romaine Lettuce, glazed with Poppy Seed Dressing.

This is was so light and refreshing perfect for a summer afternoon.

Our main course was Chicken Vienna served with sweet potato soufflé with pecan crust and asparagus spears.

102_1111

Skinless Breast of Chicken, dipped in Egg Batter, rolled in Seasoned Bread Crumbs, sautéed to a golden brown, topped with Jones Country Club Ham, French Boursin Cheese, and presented on a Madeira Wine Sauce.

How did they know sweet potatoes and asparagus are some of my favorite things?

For dessert we had a slice of lemon chess tart.

102_1112

I don’t think I’ve ever had a lemon tart before. I loved it and ate every bite!

Besides the meal the show was also excellent. It told the story of King David from the Bible. The performers were amazing. Most importantly it was nice to spend time with my mom and my aunt and cousin. Gotta love some girl time!

I would highly recommend a trip to the Fireside Theater!

One response to “Mother Daughter Extravaganza

  1. WOW what a nice way to remember a wonderful day. Kristin you are so right, the food was very good, the play was very enjoyable and the company was downright awsome.
    Love,
    Aunt Jackie

Leave a Reply

