A different kind of chip!

Good Monday evening to you! Another Monday under our belt! At first I thought I would have nothing to write about today. I mean today was pretty ordinary. I did some chores, took the dog to the groomers, taught a fitness class, bummed around the house, you know, the usual. But then I remembered a vegetable from our CSA box taking up space in the fridge!

102_1068

Kale! I haven’t had too much experience with Kale. I’ve used it in one of my favorite recipes Quinoa with Kale and Sweet Potatoes but I didn’t really want to make a full meal plus I didn’t have any of the other ingredients on hand. Then I had an idea…Kale Chips! I tried to make kale chips once before (pre-blog) and they turned out horribly! Since then I had seen a great video tutorial from Kath at Kath Eats Real Food a.k.a. KERF! She does the cutest videos. Check out the full video here.

The kale, leaves torn, washed, and spun!

102_1069

I spread the kale out on two cookie sheets sprayed with cooking spray.

102_1071

I sprinkled the kale on the right with sea salt. For the other bunch I used one of our favorite seasonings.

102_1070

When it says “Great on Everything” it’s true! We use this on everything! Not sure where Brian found this but he’s been using it since before we were married.

All ready to go into the oven.

102_1073

After 12 minutes at 350 degrees. I checked on the little green leaves. The one I placed on the top rack seemed prefect.

102_1074

But the one on the bottom seemed a little soggy so I moved it to the top rack for 3 more minutes. They burnt just a little but  other than that I think they turned out fine!

102_1076

I couldn’t believe how crispy they were!

102_1075

Big pile of kale chips!

102_1077

My final thoughts: they definitely turned out better than the first time I tried to make them. They tasted pretty good, nice and salty. The texture was kind of like eating dried leaves so no, you don’t really feel like you are eating a chip. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to make these on regular basis but I thought it was a good use of a vegetable I had on hand. I didn’t think it would be wise to eat that whole pile so I put them in a Tupperware container and stored them in the fridge. I hope they stay crispy. Pretty sure I won’t be able to get Brian to eat these!

Hope your week is off to a good start!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

