A Very Vegetableful Dinner

Hi there! How’s it going? Hope you are finishing the weekend on a good note! My day has actually been quite busy! I sang at our early Mass, came home and got the house all clean and sparkly, I washed 4 loads of laundry, got some knitting done on a new project, then Brian and I went to the movie Bridesmaids at our budget theater, it was HILARIOUS! I love Kristen Wiig. Then we came home and made home made pizza for dinner AND we just got back from a long walk with the dog through the marsh. Whew!

Last night for dinner I made more good use of all the plentiful vegetables we’ve been harvesting from our garden and receiving in our CSA box. I made an Italian Summer Squash Polenta bake based on this recipe.

The only changes I made were I used an eggplant instead of a bell pepper and used a white onion instead of red since that’s what I had on hand.

102_1058

All the veggies chopped and ready to sauté.

102_1059

It was actually  little much to sauté all at once, next time I would probably divide it in half.

Simmering in the spaghetti sauce. We used a bold and zesty flavored sauce.

102_1060

I haven’t had polenta in a very long time. Polenta is basically cornmeal. You can buy it dry, like rice, and boil it up to a mushy consistency or you can buy it in a prepared roll as this recipe suggested.

102_1061

Sautéing the polenta was probably the most difficult part as it sizzles and pops and created a huge mess all over my stove.

102_1062

Layered in the casserole dish.

102_1063

Topped with the veggies mixture.

102_1064

And cheese, ready for the oven!

102_1065

Right out of the oven, golden brown and bubbly!

102_1066

This tasted delicious! Even Brian had TWO helpings! I really liked the polenta but next time I think I would boil some in a pot, but a layer in the bottom of the casserole dish, bake for a few minutes to create a crust and then add the rest of the layers. I actually think this would be easier! But other than that I thought this was a really good and easy recipe.

Hope you have a great summer evening!

Technorati Tags: ,,
One response to “A Very Vegetableful Dinner

  1. What a great idea for polenta! I’ve only used it once and it did not go well 🙂 Never thought about a layer in a casserole!

Leave a Reply

