I may not be a baker but…

Hey there! How’s your Saturday going? Mine had been pretty good! This morning I headed over to the YMCA to take a cycling class. I couldn’t even tell you the last time I took  cycling class, I’m always teaching them. It was a great interval workout! After class I headed to the Wellness Center and did the Schweaty Circuit Workout (minus the 20-30 min. of cardio). Then I hit up the Food Co-Op for a bunch of fruit and just a few veggies since out garden and CSA had been very plentiful!

When I got home I had one goal in mind, to use up some of the zucchini we’ve harvested from our garden. It was getting a little overwhelming!

102_1044

I shredded about 4 zucchinis, two cups I used today and the other two I froze for a later time. This bad boy is going in our dinner tonight! One of my friends, Tracy (hi Tracy!) posted this recipe on Facebook the other day. Even though I have not had much success with baking in the past I thought this looked pretty easy and I could use some of the zucchini!

Pineapple Zucchini Bread

3 EGGS                                                            3 C. FLOUR

1 C. OIL                                                          2 tsp. BAKING SODA

2 C. SUGAR                                                    1 tsp. SALT

2 tsp. VANILLA                                               1/2 tsp. BAKING POWDER

2 C. ZUCCHINI (GRATED)                              1 1/2 tsp. CINNAMON

8 oz. can PINEAPPLE (1cup)                           1/2 tsp. NUTMEG

MIX EGGS, SUGAR, OIL, VANILLA IN ONE BIG MIXING BOWL THEN STIR IN ZUCCHINI AND PINEAPPLE.

MIX DRY INGREDIENTS IN A DIFFERENT BOWL AND THEN ADD TO WET MIXTURE

STIR UNTIL WELL MIXED.

POUR MIXTURE INTO TWO GREASED AND FLOURED BREAD PANS AND BAKE AT 350 DEGREES FOR 50-60 MINUTES.

ENJOY!

Mixing the wet ingredients!

102_1045

Added the pineapple and zucchini.

102_1046

Dry ingredients next!

102_1047

Stirring the dry into the wet…I can’t even see the zucchini!

102_1048

Since I don’t own any bread pans I decided to make this into muffins.

Already to go in the oven!

102_1049

I added chocolate chips to half of the muffins because Brian said he just didn’t think he could eat muffins made with zucchini!

The bread recipe says to bake for 50-60 minutes but I found the muffins only needed about 28 minutes to get nice and golden brown.

102_1052

While I was slaving away in the kitchen look what was going on in the living room.

102_1055

Sleepyheads!

The final results… I thought these turned out pretty well! I actually thought they would be more dense and moist with the zucchini and pineapple but they were just your typical muffin consistency. I couldn’t taste the zucchini at all and the pineapple added a nice natural sweetness. Brian ate two by the way!

102_1056

Felt pretty good that I had a baking success! It probably had to do with the fact that I followed the recipe and didn’t try to healthify it by using substitutions. I figured it was healthy enough with the zucchini in it!

Not sure what is on tap for the rest of the day. It’s pretty hot outside, perhaps I’ll head to the knit shop to start a new project or maybe I’ll take a nap!

Hope you’re doing something you love on this Saturday!

Technorati Tags:
One response to “I may not be a baker but…

  1. YUMMYYYY! Looks great. Zucchini bread/muffins & freezing it is great. If you get really finely chopped stuff & freeze it also it mixes well with soup too. We’re almost out of our frozen from last year so still waiting on my plants to do a bit better. Have some but not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

