Painted Toes and Mexican Chicken

Hey friends! I have been such a slacker with this blog lately! I guess I’ve just been feeling like I have nothing interesting to write about. I’m not in training for anything so I’ve just been doing my regular workouts and teaching classes. I really haven’t been cooking much lately so I have no new recipes to share and we haven’t been dining out anywhere unique. I don’t really think you would find what I watched on television a very interesting topic to read about!

Today is just the beginning of wedding weekend adventures so I promise I’ll have more interesting things to share AND pictures! Today started with a great yoga class at the Y with my mom, then we met for breakfast at The Flipside before we headed to the salon for manicures and pedicures!

102_0970

102_0971

Yes those are my REAL nails, they are growing particularly long and strong these days! I haven’t had my nails done professionally in a long time. It was so nice to be pampered! The bridesmaid dresses are black but the color theme of the wedding are peacock colors: teals, purples, and blues. I decided to go with a purple since it’s my favorite color! I took a little nap this afternoon and am now hanging out watching Say Yes to the Dress before getting ready for the rehearsal.

I do have one quick and easy recipe to share with you. As I mentioned before this week the weather here was particularly hot and humid. The one night I did volunteer to cook I used my beloved crockpot. I kind of came up with this recipe myself. Here it is!

Easy Mexican Chicken

Ingredients:

  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts (however many you need to feed your family, I only used two)
  • Chicken broth
  • Salsa
  • Cheese

Directions:

  • Place chicken breasts in crockpot and cover with chicken broth. Cover and turn on high
  • After about 4 hours on high the chicken should be cooked (check to make sure) drain the broth and shred the chicken using two forks (it should shred pretty easily)
  • Add salsa. I didn’t really measure how much I added just until it looked right
  • Add cheese. Again no real measurement
  • Let cook on low for an additional 3-4 hours. Check occasionally to make sure it isn’t burning. If it is drying out add water.
  • This would be perfect served in tortilla shells. We had it over brown rice.

102_0963

The chicken breast all ready for their broth bath!

102_0964

Easily shredded!

102_0965

I got creative and added some the cilantro cubes I created a few weeks ago. They smelled VERY fragrant but I didn’t really taste this in the final product. Brian said he did though!

102_0967

All mixed up and ready to simmer!

Sorry there is not picture of the final product. I got home at almost 8pm after teaching Zumba so I was STARVING and pretty much inhaled this delightful dish!

Man! It feels good to blog again! I definitely need to get back into the grove! Hope you have some fun plans for the weekend and that if it is hot where you are you are finding a way to stay cool!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

