2 Salads 30 minutes!

Hey friends! Yay for short weeks, can’t believe it is almost Friday! So, as promised I am here to share with you two salads I made for a gathering I’m going to tonight.

The first comes from our weekly CSA newsletter. It is a simple radish and fennel salad. I’ll admit I didn’t use the fennel we received in our last box because I had no idea what to do with it! I was glad they gave us a recipe this week. This was such a simple recipe. Simply slice the cleaned radishes and fennel. Let them soak in cold water while preparing the easy dressing of lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and pepper. I didn’t use quite as much olive oil as it seemed a little much. Drain the veggies and toss with the dressing.

102_0959

I didn’t taste test this because I really don’t like radishes. I’ll have to have Brian try it out when he gets home. I can tell you that the fennel smelled like black licorice!

The next recipe is a Kristin original! I had a craving/idea to create some type of Greek salad. I read a few recipes and came up with this.

Greek Pasta Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 16oz bag of bowtie pasta
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 can of artichoke hearts in water, chopped
  • 1 small jar of kalamata olives
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes quartered
  • 1 tub of feta cheese

Directions

  • Prepare pasta as directed.
  • While the pasta is boiling wash and chop the veggies placing them in a large bow. I left the olives whole.
  • Add the feta.
  • You can also prepare the dressing

Dressing

  • 2T of olive oil
  • 2T of white wine vinegar
  • Basil and oregano to taste (I used a lot!)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Once the pasta is cooked drain and rinse with cold water to stop from  cooking. Toss all ingredients together with the dressing. That’s it!

102_0956

After letting this chill in the fridge for awhile I taste tested it and it was just what I was craving! Next time though I think I would use a large jar of olives.

102_0958

Both of these salads took a total of 30 minutes! Now I have some time to relax before we head out for one last gathering with Brian’s friends before they all head home!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

