June Dairy Days 5 Mile Race Recap

Hey there! Are you enjoying the first weekend in June? I know I am! I usually don’t post twice in one day but I felt Girl’s Night and this Race Recap both needed their own separate post!

If you know me at all or if have been reading my blog for awhile you know that I am a type “A” personality. I like to plan things out carefully, I follow plans as closely as I can, I like to be organized and prepared. This is especially true with any type of race I am doing. I sign up for a race well in advance, follow a training plan and the night before take special care to make sure I have everything I need for a successful race. You can read about a few of my prerace preparations in these posts

Before the La Crosse Fitness Festival Bike Tour

Before the Got Energy Triathlon

Before the Maple Leaf Half Marathon

Yet only a few days ago I got the great idea to run  the June Dairy Days  5mile race. Why did I decide to do this? Well, for a couple of reasons. For one I had never run this race before. Secondly I wanted to run a race by myself and by that I mean, without Brian. Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my husband dearly. And I am SO SO SO SO SO proud of him and how far he has come in just a year. I mean a year ago he could barely run/walk 2 miles and last week we did 7! I know that he is going to do great in our 10K next month too. But, I really wanted to run a race going all out at my pace just to see how I would do. Since I knew he was getting two wisdom teeth out on Friday I was pretty sure he wouldn’t be up for a race today.

I had no trouble waking up this morning even after my night out. It was already 70 degrees at 6am so I knew I was in for hot run. I didn’t preregister for this race (shocking I know!) so I got there nice and early. There wasn’t a lot of people at the race site. It seemed to me like a pretty low key race. There were no timing chips and no big signs for the start or finish. As we got closer to the start time of the race there were still not a lot of people there. I began to get hopeful that maybe I could place in my age division. Sometimes if I am in a smaller race there are less people in my age division so that chances of placing go up. I began to scope out the “competition” our age division was indicated on our bibs by a colored dot. It was hard for me to tell how many people were in my age division or what type of runners they were but I still held out hope.

Soon a woman who appeared to be in charge and I guy with an orange vest, a microphone, and start gun told the 5 mile racers to line up at the end of the “black side walk” (real official I know). The guy said, “runner on your mark, get set…” then he fired the gun and about 25 Garmins beeped to indicate the race had started. The pack of runners literally took off around me and I found myself at the back of the pack pretty quickly. I guess I wasn’t going to place during this race! My natural tendency was to keep up with pack but when I saw that my first mile was run at a 9:04 pace I knew I had to back off or I would never last 5 miles.

I found out there is one advantage to being at the back of the pack you don’t get “lost”! The course was not well marked at all! The lead runners totally made a wrong turn and had to be redirected. They were not happy! I guess at one point all the racers missed a turn because we were just following everyone else.  I’m not sure how it all worked out but somehow we still only raced 5 miles, the coordinators some how rerouted us with out adding or subtracting mileage.

Once I realized there was probably no way I would place during this race I just got into a good grove and enjoyed the run. It was really fun to run in a different neighborhood. The route actually followed some of the same roads as the Got Energy Triathlon follows and since I’m not doing the Tri this year I was glad that I got to experience that run this summer. I especially liked running along Lake Neshonic. Except for it being a little humid the running conditions were pretty good. No wind and cloudy so you didn’t have the sun beating down on you.

I did however pick out a “rabbit” pretty early in the race, a curly haired girl with a bright green shirt. I saw her ahead of me for awhile at the start but then lost her. As we made a final loop around mile 4 I saw her again and I was getting closer!  After the loop I was right on her heels. At about 4.8miles I caught her and passed her which propelled  me to the finish line.

My official race time was 45:41with and average mile of 9:11 which is SUPER AWESOME for me!

Here are my splits according my Garmin

  • Mile 1: 9:04 <—-Way too fast to start!
  • Mile 2: 9:22
  • Mile 3: 9:21
  • Mile 4: 9:09
  • Mile 5: 8:52 <—- Catching the rabbit!!

So, even though I didn’t place I felt like I had a REALLY good run. I don’t really keep track of PR’s and since a 5 mile race is kind of rare I have no idea what my times were on previous 5 mile races were but I know that 9:11 average is so much faster than I was running last year. I was really happy with my race. I had Brian snap a photo of me when I got home.

102_0792

I’m so glad I got up early, pushed myself, raced hard, and had a great time!

Plans for the rest of the day included some experimenting in the kitchen and a graduation party. Other than that it’s been a pretty laid back Saturday!

Technorati Tags:
2 responses to “June Dairy Days 5 Mile Race Recap

  1. Pingback: In Training for??? | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Postpartum Diet and Exercise | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

