The Unhealthy Side of The Girl with the Pin Sneakers

Hey there! How was your Wednesday? Did you know that today was National Running Day? I celebrated with a glorious 4 mile run this morning before work!

102_0775

It was a beautiful morning for a run. The perfect temperature, cool enough to feel good but comfortable enough to wear shorts and a t-shirt. Actually my run wasn’t the best. I realized the last two times I ran I had a total rest day before hand. Yesterday I lifted weights and I could tell that my legs were not as fresh on my previous runs. My MP3 players was also dead so I was running without music. I just enjoyed myself and pushed through happy to be running on a Wednesday morning. I have been teaching cycling on Wednesday mornings for almost two years and decided to take a break this summer to enjoy more  outdoor activities. I think I would have been pretty bummed if I would have had to head to the basement of the Y on a beautiful day like today.

After a quick shower I had something new for breakfast.

102_0776

What is it you might ask? It’s a Dough Boy Smoothie from Kath at Kath Eats Real Food. I love smoothies, and I love overnight oats this just seemed like the best of both worlds. It wasn’t as thick as I thought it would be but it still was doughy. I topped it with half a banana, some strawberries, coconut, and sunflower butter. All of the fruit obviously sank to the bottom. I was worried that it wouldn’t keep me full but it lasted as long as my regular breakfasts normally do. I will certainly be adding this to my summer breakfast rotation.

I worked at the church again today, again very quiet. At my lunch break I ran an errand to the post office and then just happened to stop by a local bike shop were I bought two of these for my commuter bike.10bo414195

(Source)

I’ve been meaning to buy something to hook on to my bike rack to carry groceries for some time now. I’ve scoped out a lot of options and these seemed to be the best. I was so happy to see that I could by them in town without paying shipping and handling. I was also hoping that they would live up to my expectations and they did! I put my yoga clothes, and lunch containers in them on the way home and they stayed secure to the bike rack. I think I am going to LOVE these! I’ll have to take a picture of them on the bike the next time I remember.

So, on to the unhealthy part of my day. Tonight Brian and I went out for one of the most unhealthy meals you will see on this blog. About twice a year we head out to Grizzly’s for the their Wednesday night wing special. Since I usually work on Wednesday nights we try and do it on the first Wednesday night I am free in the summer and on a Wednesday night over Christmas break. We realized we missed our winter outing and were really looking forward to tonight’s dinner of bar food which included a pitcher of beer.

IMG_0066[1] 

2lbs of wings with Hot Sauce and Caribbean Jerk Sauce

IMG_0067[1]

And a GIANT plate of nachos.

IMG_0068[1]

We did a number on the nachos but couldn’t finish the wings which I let Brian eat most of. Don’t worry we balanced out our unhealthy dinner with huge salads for lunch. Honestly, at first I wasn’t looking forward to this indulgent meal, I honestly really enjoy eating healthy and since the weekend was slightly indulgent I kind of wanted to stay on track. But, since we do only do this twice
(or in this case once) a year I thought it would be ok. It did taste pretty good and I didn’t over indulge to the point of being stuffed so that’s good!

Well, tomorrow is a very busy day for me. It’s the return of Triple Threat Thursday. You’ve gotten through most of the week, it’s all downhill from here! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

