Solo Road Trip

Hey there! How was your Sunday? Mine has been pretty adventure some so far! Even though I usually don’t work on Monday’s today just didn’t seem like Sunday, it seemed like Saturday. Maybe it’s because I didn’t have work today, which is usually the case since I work at a church!

This morning I had quite the dilemma on for breakfast. Which coffee should I choose?

102_0763

They both sound delicious don’t they?

102_0764102_0765

Coulee Coffee Roastery is a local business that actually helped me out with one of our fundraisers at church. I’ve been addicted to their coffee ever since. These were two flavors I don’t see offered very often so when I saw them at the Co-Op yesterday I just had to pick them up. I went with the Jamaican Me Crazy and it was sooooooo good! About two years ago I quit drinking coffee completely, not really sure why but lately I’ve been drinking it more and more. I need to work on saving it for the weekends or special occasions! I sipped my coffee alongside another green smoothie!

102_0766

Then I headed off to church. After church I puttered around the house for awhile finishing up some laundry and prepping some food for the week. Then it was time for a solo road trip! For longest time I’ve been meaning to go to a running specialty store to have the “experts” look at my feet/shoes to make sure I was wearing the right ones. It was definitely time to buy new shoes so I headed to the nearest running specialty store The Running Room in Rochester Minnesota.

IMG_0058

The service was EXCELLENT. The person helping me had me walk around the store barefoot to see what my feet did. She told me I didn’t pronate or supinate  so I could go with a neutral shoe. Then she asked me a few questions about how I like my shoes to feel and  selected a few styles to try on. Since I started running 11 years ago I have stuck with Asics. Usually what I do is go into the big shoe store here in my town, bring in my old shoes and ask the clerk if they have them or a similar model try them on and buy them. So far that has worked pretty well and the clerks at our store don’t really question you. Well today I decided to break tradition and say good-bye to the Asics. Instead I chose the Brooks G3.

102_0772

She had me try on Asics as well as a few other pairs but the Brooks just felt the most comfortable. A bonus, they were less expensive than the Asics AND a woman in front of me had a coupon for 20% off at the Running Room that she couldn’t use so she gave it to me! Score! It must have been my lucky day! I also felt pretty lucky because as I was exiting the highway to go to The Running Room I saw a sign for a very fun and unique store that we don’t have in my town.

Queue choir of angels…

IMG_0059

I was pretty excited! I perused the store looking at almost everything. I knew I couldn’t buy produce or anything in the cooler sections as I had to drive an hour back home. I did manage to pick up some fun and unique foods to try.

102_0771

Naan bread (located on the far left), Maple Leaf Cookies, Bite Size Everything Crackers, Three Layer Hummus, Masala Simmer Sauce, and S’mashing S’mores which I may or may not have broken into these bad boys before even leaving the parking lot.

IMG_0060

IMG_0061

I can’t wait to make Chicken Masala this week for dinner! I tried not to get too many snacky things since we don’t like to have that stuff in the house but everything looked so good! I think I’ll take the hummus and crackers over to a get together at my brother’s tomorrow night.

I really enjoyed my solo road trip. I truly am an introvert and loved listening to NPR and cruising on the highway. Total nerd I know!

IMG_0062

Well, I’m hoping to not be such a hermit and actually do something social with some friends tonight! Hope you’re having a good long weekend weather your flying solo or hanging with your friends!

2 responses to “Solo Road Trip

  1. Happy to hear you finally made it out to the Running Room. My last visit there I switched out of Asics too! I am loving my new shoes, although all they’ve done so far is walk … hopefully I’ll get back into the running thing soon!

    Isn’t Trader Joe’s just great?! I have some chocolate covered coffee beans here with me that I bought there. Definitely should have bought more than one box of them!

  2. Pingback: Three Musts! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

