Healthy Kick Off to Summer

Hey there! Happy Friday to you! Hope you can enjoy the holiday weekend. I know I am certainly looking forward to it. Memorial Day weekend traditionally signifies the start of summer although this morning it was VERY cool out! Despite the chilly temperatures I started the day off right with a green smoothie.

102_0744

And a cup of coffee to help warm me up!

102_0743

It was just a regular old work day for me but after work I decided to take a little detour before heading home. I have been doing A LOT of commuting via bicycle. I try not to drive unless I absolutely have to. I even cycled to work, the Y for yoga, back to work, and back some on Wednesday in the POURING RAIN! Brian took my car to work before we realized how awful the weather was going to be. Not to worry though, a few years ago when we went to Alaska I bought some good rain gear and it kept me nice an dry! Still wasn’t too fun to ride in the rain though. Today there were clouds but no rain.

100_0117

And what better place to go on the first weekend of summer than the Farmer’s Market?

100_0118

This is a small and quaint Farmer’s Market that takes place in a park across from the Co-Op. I only made it there once last year!

100_0119

100_0120

Not sure how often I’ll go this summer as we will get most of our vegetables from a CSA and out own garden. I did pick up some spinach, lettuce, and green onions.

100_0123

I used some of the lettuce and spinach to make a light salad with strawberries and balsamic vinegar to eat with dinner. It was delicious!

Well, we are planning on a low key night because tomorrow we are getting up for an early long run! Then more adventures for the holiday weekend!

Hope your weekend is off to a good start!

Leave a Reply

