It was spring….last week

Hello friends! How are you doing today? I am doing pretty well if I do say so myself. I’m just a little disappointed that when I look out my window I see this.

102_0466

Yes, it appears that winter truly wasn’t over and spring will just have to wait. So, what does a girl do when she is longing for the days of light jackets and care free bicycle rides? She experiments in the kitchen with spring recipes, of course!

On Sunday I prepped Angela’s Carrot Raisin Spelt Berry Salad with Cumin and Cilantro to eat for lunch throughout the week. The only change I made to the recipe was to use whet berries instead of spelt berries.

102_0463

The flavor combinations in this salad are outstanding! You have the sweetness of the raisins, with the tang of the balsamic vinegar, the uniqueness of the cilantro, and the spicy kick of the cumin and paprika are really something special. My only beef with this recipe is that is packs quite a punch as far as Weight Watcher points go, it’s a whopping 10 for a cup and it doesn’t have much protein in it so I can’t really justify eating only that for a meal. So, I have been eating it on top of a HUGE veggie salad and only eating half a cup. On the side there you’ll see a piece of homemade bread my friend Gardner made just for me! It was delicious!

Next up another Oh She Glows recipe. When I saw this I just new I had to try this! It starts with this little guy.

102_0464

And finishes with this.

102_0465

And that would be a healthy version of a  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough “Blizzard” This was actually really simple to make. And beware! Those cookie dough balls are ADDICTING! Brian actually tried this and said that he didn’t think the banana flavored “soft serve” and the cookie dough flavors mixed well together. I kind of agreed with him but I think it is only because we are use to vanilla flavored ice cream. I still liked it and would make it again.

For dinner tonight I am cooking a recipe from the latest issue of Real Simple which features some of my favorite foods; salmon, asparagus, and bulgur.

102_0467

Doesn’t it look pretty before heading into the oven?

102_0468

Sadly after 30 minutes in the oven the salmon and the asparagus were not cooked Sad smile I guess I was suppose to use a shallower dish. We transferred the food and are waiting for it to finish cooking!

I’m also making ONE MORE recipe but it’s TOP SECRET as it’s a surprise for my dad for his birthday! Happy Birthday dad, a day early! Hope you like you’re surprise!

These recipes sure have kept me busy and have kept my find off the fact that our spring weather has disappeared. Fortunately for us the snow won’t last forever. Even now it is melting like crazy! Spring will be here soon and it will make it that much sweeter!

How’s the weather where you are? If you are having a reoccurrence of winter what are you doing to keep your spirits up?

Leave a Reply

