Small Town Weekend Adventures Part 1

Hey there! I hope you had a wonderful Saturday! I sure did and it’s not over yet! The weather here was amazing, 55 degrees and sunny! I had grad school all weekend but our professor let us out early to enjoy the day!

So, Brian is off having an adventure in the Twin Cities with our friends the Gardner’s. Remember last year when we visited? It was so much fun! Not going to lie, I was pretty bummed when I found out I wouldn’t be able to make our annual March visit to the Gardner’s because of school. But don’t you worry I’ve been having just as much fun here in our small town!

Last night after class (so about 9:30) a few of my classmates and I headed over to a bar near my house for a going away party for one of our other classmates. I didn’t know that Karaoke would be part of the party and even got up there to sing a few songs! My friend Ann took some pictures I’ll post them as soon as she has them up. Foolishly I stayed out a little too late and then had a hard time getting to sleep. I had to be back at class today by 8:30am!

I got over my lack of sleep by making a FABULOUS breakfast. I saw this simple recipe for a French Toast bake on Caitlin’s blog. I halved the recipe and only used one egg because sadly that’s all we had. It worked out just fine and seemed like a decadent breakfast that didn’t take too much time.

102_0388

The baked in banana really gave it a sweet taste. I topped it with pumpkin, honey, the other half of my banana, cinnamon, coconut, and almonds. Delish!

102_0389

I also road my new bike to and from school today, it’s about a 1.75mile ride one way. It was a little chilly this morning but nothing a hot cup of coffee couldn’t cure.

Today’s class was by far the best part of my day. Song writer/troubadour Larry Long was a guest on our campus today and me, along with 35 of my classmates got to write a song with him! It was so cool! He used an amazing process that allowed each person to contribute their thoughts and reflections on the Beatitudes to the lyrics then set the whole thing to music. After we helped to edit the song we all sang it together and Larry recorded it on his computer. I will post a link to the song or a clip just as soon as I figure out how to do that.  It was truly an inspiring day!

As I mentioned I got home early and was able to enjoy the sunshine by taking Izzy for a long walk to the dog park. There weren’t many dogs to play with. I threw the ball a couple of times but then she got tired so we headed home.

As the title of this post suggests my weekend adventures are not over yet! Shortly, I’ll be headed up “the ridge” to a little town called Newberg Corners to Leo and Leona’s a “historic” bar owned by my professor to hear and him Larry Long do a combination of story telling and songs. It’s going to be a blast!

Hope you’re weekend is bringing you some adventures!

Leave a Reply

