New Traditions

Hey there! Happy St. Patty’s day to you! I hope you had a good one! I am feeling much better. I still have a bit of congestion but I’ve gotten some of my energy back. Good thing too, I needed it to teach my two fitness classes today and to celebrate the Irish girl in me! Over here we’ve started a few new St. Patrick’s day traditions.

The only green beverage in my beer mug today was a green smoothie!

102_0371

102_0372

102_0373

Brian and I thought long and hard about what we wanted to eat for our St. Patty’s day feast. Sometimes we meet up with some of Brian’s relatives for a home cooked meal but that didn’t seem to be the works this year. We knew there were plenty of restaurants serving up the “traditional” American/Irish food of corned beef and cabbage but instead we came up with a different plan. What takes the deliciousness of corned beef and cabbage, adds cheese, and thousand island dressing to create with perfect sandwich for St. Patty’s day? A Reuben Sandwich of course! We knew of several places in town that were known for their Reuben Sandwiches and decided on Big Al’s. When we got there we ordered drinks, sticking to our  alcohol detox, a diet coke for him and an O’Doul’s for me!

102_0375

I’m actually really enjoying some of the non alcoholic beers out there. More on how our detox is going in a later post.

We chose Big Al’s for their Reuben sandwich but when we got there they were promoting a Reuben Pizza for St. Patrick’s day. We couldn’t resist and just had to try it. Our server assured us that we would love it!

102_0380

He was so right! This pizza was AMAZING! The sauce was thousand island dressing and it was topped with the typical corned beef, sauerkraut, and cheese. Plus their crust is always perfectly thin and crispy!

102_0382

Big Al’s is known for their pizza we should have known they would have an awesome Reuben pizza. We both agreed that this might our new St. Patty’s day tradition.

Not much else new around here. Plans for more relaxing and an early bedtime to keep myself on the road to recovery. Not sure if I’ll post tomorrow. I work at church and then will pretty much head straight to my grad school class which doesn’t get done until 10pm.

Hope your weekend gets off to a good start tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

