Good Eats!

Hey friends! How are you doing this fine evening? I am having a very pleasant evening. I didn’t have to work so Brian and I spent some quality time snuggling on the couch watching season 4 of 30 Rock…I LOVE Netflix live streaming!

So, I have been doing some experiments in the kitchen these past few nights and most of them involve my favorite kitchen appliance…my crock pot! The current issue of Real Simple features some great crock pot recipes that I was just dying to try! First up a meat free spinach lasagna perfect for Ash Wednesday dinner.

102_0346

Not the best picture but believe me this was delicious! And so easy to make! It uses marinara sauce from a jar. Now, I make a pretty goods spaghetti sauce that I have perfected over the years but when I do use store bought sauce I am always surprised at how good it tastes. I was also surprised at the consistency of the lasagna. I’ve made lasagna in the crock pot before and it turned out too mushy but this was perfect, just like lasagna from the oven.

This wasn’t made in the crock pot but my breakfast was something I haven’t had in a long time. Regular oats cooked on the stove stop. For the past too weeks I’ve been pretty into the steel cut oats made over night in crock pot but obviously my crock pot was a little busy this week. I was ready for a change anyway.

102_0347

I swear the oats are under my tasty toppings of a chopped apple, dried cranberries, almonds, and coconut. Also had a cup of coffee, or two. I’ve kind of been abandoning my green tea for coffee lately. Not sure what’s up with that!

For dinner tonight, another recipe from Real Simple, creamy chicken and biscuits.

Bottom half of a buttermilk biscuit in the bowl.

102_0348

My evening lighting is so terrible!

Topped with some creamy chicken (chicken, carrots, celery, onions, chicken brother, half and half).

102_0349

Top with the other half of the biscuit!

102_0350

So good! Perfect comfort food. Also pretty healthy if you use fat free half and half like I do. Real Simple gives a recipe for home made biscuits but I just used Pisbury’s buttermilk biscuits, very good and so easy! If you have the most current issue of Real Simple you must check these recipes out!

When ever I make something with ricotta cheese it seems like the recipe only calls for half of the container and then I am left not knowing what to do with the rest of the ricotta cheese, usually it spoils. The lasagna recipe was no exception but this time I got smart and Googled recipes that included ricotta in their ingredient list. I came up with this recipe from the Food Network. Again, super easy with a nice short ingredient list, plus strawberries were on sale this week.

102_0352

Very light an refreshing!

So, that is what I’ve been up to! I’m so pleased to have so many successes in the kitchen. There is still one more crock pot recipe I want to try. I really do love my crock pot!

Today the temperature broke 40 degrees. It looks like the snow they were predicting for this weekend might miss us and the temps are suppose to stay above 30 all next week. Spring is almost here!

Have a good night and a good Friday!

Leave a Reply

