Retail Therapy

Well hi there! How are you this fine day? I am pretty good. Sorry for not posting yesterday. I worked a 12 hour day and was pretty beat when I got home so there was no posting for this gal.

Today was my day off from my church job but I did teach two classes at the YMCA. I was suppose to teach a third class to a group of middle school students but school was canceled today due to all the protests going on in Wisconsin. I had Izzy scheduled for a grooming session out near the mall and decided to do some shopping while I waited for her to get done. Let me tell you, three hours, with a credit card, and numerous stores is not good for my budget Smile.

I came to a conclusion while I was out shopping, I have no fashion sense. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely not a case for the show What Not To Wear. I know what a looks good on me, I can tell when something doesn’t fit right, and I don’t think what I wear is outdated. I’m just not very creative when it comes to my clothes. I wear jeans a lot of the time and if I’m not wearing jeans I wear pretty casual pants, usually with a lot of pockets. I wear mostly solid colored short or long sleeved shirts, vests, solid colored sweaters, and if I’m really dressing up a blazer. I see all these cute tops and sweaters not to mention the huge trend in skinny jeans and I just can’t seem to find something I think looks nice on me, that I would feel comfortable in, or that I would wear doing the type of work I do. I guess I just like to stick to the basics when it comes to clothes.

My credit card may have taken a beating today but I did by some things that I needed…for the most part. I’ve been looking for a new purse for awhile now and actually went to 4 stores before I found one I liked.

102_0245

I was looking for a purse that could carry my camera easily. This one has a huge pocket that zips shut in the middle and two other pockets on either side that hold all my other “junk”.” I also like that it is silver so it can got with black or brown jackets.

I also bought 2 pairs of jeans in a size smaller than I’ve been wearing! I plan on doing a weight loss update post soon so stayed tuned.

102_0243

My current pair of favorite jeans are getting a little worn and faded so I thought I needed some new ones. I also bought some socks.

102_0246

Exciting, I know. Seriously every time I put on a pair of socks this winter one of them had a hole in it. So annoying!

But by far the best find of the day was this

102_0238

This is a long hooded trench I got at Old Navy for only $25 (50% off)! I can’t wait until it’s a little warmer out so I can wear it. In all honesty I didn’t NEED another jacket  but in a effort to be more fashionable and not wear a wind breaker or a fleece this spring I thought I would get something a little more in style and versatile.

And here’s my little baby nice and clean from her day at the spa.

102_0247

Right now she’s sound asleep next to me on the couch. She gets pretty tired when we interrupt her 18 hour nap day!

So that was my day! Sure I could have done some cleaning, worked on home work or done something else productive but I’m glad I treated myself to an afternoon of retail therapy a skinny cinnamon dulce latter from Starbucks included!

4 responses to “Retail Therapy

  1. Wow! Some great finds! I could use some retail therapy but I have to wait a few months first though. 🙂

  2. Retail therapy is the best! – and can your dog be any cuter?

Leave a Reply

