Who I’ve become as a runner

Hello! Good Saturday afternoon to you. How’s your day been? Mine has been pretty great thus far. I’m feeling much more alive than yesterday, amazing what 10 hours of sleep will do for you! I woke up this morning with literally nothing on my schedule. Of course I had things that I wanted to do and one of those was get in a run!

Yesterday I watched enviously as several people ran past my office in the beautiful 30 degree weather. The forecast predicted 30’s for today too so I definitely wanted to try and get outside for a run.  I got a few things done like laundry, weekly shopping trip to the Co-Op, homework, walking the doggie, and running a load of dishes and getting them put away. It was almost 1pm and it was 25 degrees but I figured it was now or never. I headed out with no real idea of how far I wanted to go. It was kind of freeing not having to complete a required distance required by a training plan. I figured I’d go at least 4 miles and when I got to the 2 mile turn around I’d see how I felt. Well, I felt great! So I kept going! I headed towards a favorite 5 mile loop. As I got closer to my house I realized that what I thought was a 5 mile loop was a little longer, I had already gone 5.25 miles and was still feeling good so I figured why not make it an even 6! I flew past our house and finished strong at 6 miles!

102_0157

Can you believe that the last time I ran outside in Wisconsin was the day after Christmas? I can honestly say that today’s run was one of my best  in a long time. The last time I felt that good running was my 9 mile training run back in November. After that my body started hurting and the weather got cold and snowy. I really can’t believe how far I’ve come as a runner. Two years ago I NEVER would have run outside during the winter. In fact I can even remember winters where I wouldn’t run at all and then have rebuild my endurance in the spring. Even last year I surprised myself by heading out for a few outdoor runs later in February but not this early and never 6 miles. Training for the Disney Half Marathon really pushed my limits as a runner, forcing me to run in conditions I never would have considered in the past. I haven’t run much since the half marathon, I wanted to see if my injuries went away and how I felt but after today I realized how much I missed running, how much I missed running long distances too! I really wanted to run farther but didn’t think that would be good for my body. One thing for sure is I know running is something I want to continue to do for a long time. I just need to keep doing things to keep my body healthy so I’m able to run! Except for tomorrow the temperatures are suppose to drop back down to 5-10 above. Not sure when my next outdoor run will be but I’m already looking forward to it!

102_0156

Technorati Tags: ,
3 responses to “Who I’ve become as a runner

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Who I’ve become as a runner | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers -- Topsy.com

  2. I sticky to a pretty standard training schedule, so it’s not often that I really think about how much I *want* to run. I just do whatever is on the schedule.

    But once in a while, my brain will take over, and I’ll realize how much I love the run and wish I could just keep going and going and going. Those are the best, and make up for the days when even 3 miles seem impossible.

Leave a Reply

