Twisty Pizza Bread

Hi there! How’s you Monday treating you? I’m not sure what my answer to that one would be. I woke up in the middle of night to go to the bathroom and had a crick in my neck from sleeping the wrong way. Unfortunately this is more than a crick it’s a pretty bad pain in the neck, shooting down my shoulder and back. It makes it very hard to turn my head side to side and up and down. Not cool! I had grand plans of going to the Y for a cardio/weight workout but instead I’m laying low at home.

Last weekend at our Packer Party I made Pizza bread and it was a big hit. We had some of the ingredients left over so I decided to make it again during the week to serve with some chili. You can get the full recipe here.

Here are the ingredients I used. 1/2 packaged of turkey pepperoni chopped.

102_0068

Two TBSP of fresh parsley chopped.

102_0072

1/2 C of shredded mozzarella cheese.

102_0070

One garlic clove pressed.

102_0073102_0074

And 1 Tbsp. of flour.

102_0075

Mix it all up in a small bowl.

102_0078

Next comes the fun part. For the bread I used two tubes of Pillsbury French bread. Did anyone else use to get scared of the loud “POP” these made when you opened them? These were pretty lame, I actually had to whack them on the counter to get them to open.

102_0079

Lay the bread out on a floured surface with the seam side up. Make a cut down the seam of reach roll of dough to open it up. Be careful not to cut all the way through.

102_0080102_0081

Next roll the dough down the center to flatten it out.

102_0082

Place the pepperoni mixture down the center of each roll of dough.

102_0083102_0084

Next roll up the sides and pinch to close shut.

102_0085102_0086

Place the rolls of dough on a baking sheet or in my case a pizza stone, in an X formation. Then twist the ends together.

102_0087102_0088

Next take one egg white mixed with Italian seasoning to give the dough a little egg wash.

102_0091

The final step before baking is to cut a small slit in the top of each twist to expose some of the filling.

102_0092

Then all you do is bake for 30 minutes at 375 for golden, flakey, delicious pizza bread!

102_0094

Beautiful!

102_0097

Didn’t last long in our house! I must say, “kudos” to all those bloggers out there who frequently document their cooking and baking skills. It is not easy and I don’t do it often. When I was done my camera was covered in flour! But it was fun and totally worth it! Hope you enjoyed it!

Have a great start to you week!

Technorati Tags: ,
3 responses to “Twisty Pizza Bread

  1. Wow that looks super delicious!!!

  2. Ha! Ha! I’ve had food hanging from my new camera… This pizza bread would be awesome for the superbowl party I’m going to this weekend.

Leave a Reply

