2011 Walt Disney World Pre-race Recap

Hi there! Well, it’s hard to believe that an event that was thought up about 9 months ago is over. I had an amazing experience running the Disney Half Marathon. Truly something to check off on the “bucket list.” I know these recaps can’t even begin to capture all the fun, excitement, and emotion that I experienced during the race but I hope it gives you a glimpse into how I experienced this race.

We left the frozen tundra on Thursday and arrived in Florida around dinner time where my friends picked us up from the airport and whisked us off to a seafood feast at Joe’s Crab shack. Can you believe I forgot my camera?! Oh well! Brian and I split a variety of different types of crab legs and I stuck to water for my beverage even though they had some pretty fun looking drinks.

The next morning we got up some what early because we wanted to get to the packet pick up before the crowds. Can you believe that 28,000 people raced the half marathon and 25,000 raced the full?! That’s a lot of people but Disney did a pretty good job of getting people their race material efficiently. The packet pick up and expo took place at Disney’s Wide World of Sports, a huge complex that hosts all sorts of sports competitions.

100_2636

There was a lot of energy and excitement at the Wide World of Sports as everyone was anticipating the half and full marathons.

100_2637

John (my friend Marianne’s husband who also ran the race with me) and I picked up our packets lickity split. We didn’t hang around the expo too long as the crowd was getting quite large. We headed to Downtown Disney where walked around, shopped, and got some lunch.

In discussing plans for the half marathon John and I realized that it would be pretty chilly in the morning and we would have to wait over and hour before we started running. We decided to find the local Goodwill store and pick up some inexpensive sweat shirts that we could leave on the course where Disney would pick them up and donate them to charity. The rest of the day was spent relaxing at the condo, swimming in the pool, and soaking in the hot tub.

We decided to cook a pasta dinner for the night before the race. My friends and Brian were the best and took over the cooking so I could relax!

Here’s my friends Amy on the left, and Marianne on the right preparing our dinner. John’s there too, hanging out in the kitchen!

100_2643

Brian helped too but he must have been taking a break for some rum and Coke!

100_2644

Our beautiful dinner table!

100_2645

Carb loading! Yum!

100_2646

We called it an early night because we had to get up SUPER early! Come back tomorrow for a recap of the race!

Technorati Tags:
Leave a Reply

