Christmas Eve 2010

Hello! And Merry Christmas Eve to you! I hope that where ever you, what ever your traditions that you are able to enjoy time with the people that mean the most to you!

Last night my friend Marianne and her husband came over for dinner. I fully intended on taking lots of photos but once they got here and the wine and conversation got flowing I totally forgot. Brian did get a shot of me as I was preparing dinner in my “Drinks well with others” apron.

100_2385

We had a lovely dinner talking about plans for Christmas and our upcoming trip to Florida. And look what they brought me as a gift!

100_2404

A hydration belt! And it was filled with GU!

100_2405

I was very surprised! I totally wasn’t anticipating a gift and such a nice one too! Now I just have to get my back healed so I can run (more on that later) and try it out.

This morning I had something new for breakfast!

100_2392

These are the makings of a grilled banana sandwich ala Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point. I’ve seen these on her blog for awhile now but we usually don’t have bread in our house to make French toast.  We had the perfect kind left over from our dinner last night. Specifically I made an Autumn Grilled Banana Sandwich. The only changes I made were that I used one egg and one egg white and I didn’t had chia seeds since I was out. It turned out beautifully!

100_2398

I wasn’t sure if this would keep me satisfied because I didn’t use whole wheat bread but I didn’t get hungry until almost noon. I will definitely be making this again, probably tomorrow!

Update on my back. Today it feels MUCH better! It’s now just a dull ache no more painful spasms. I was suppose to run three miles today but knew that my back still wasn’t 100% healed so I headed to the Y to swim some laps. In the past swimming had always helped my back pain. I think it has something to do with how your back is naturally held in alignment when you swim plus there is no impact. I LOVE to swim but with half marathon training and teaching I usually don’t have time. I couldn’t even tell you the last time I went swimming. It amazes me that after not swimming for so long I can easily jump into the pool and swim 40 laps without a problem. There would be no way you could do that with running! I was glad I got to the Y early and had the pick of lanes because when I left it was surprisingly packed and even a few people were waiting for a lane. Before showering I soaked in the hot tub for awhile. That really made my back feel better. I actually felt really good when I got out of the hot tub like nothing was wrong. I won’t do any exercise tomorrow and I’m not sure about Sunday when I was suppose to do a long run. I’ll just wait and see how my back it doing.

For now I’m relaxing on the couch drinking some peppermint tea and watching Christmas With the Kranks. Tonight we are going to church with Brian’s parents, then over to my parent’s house for dinner with them and my brother’s future in-laws then to church with my parents. Tomorrow we’ll officially celebrate Christmas with my family.

Hope you are having the best of holidays!

Leave a Reply

