Back to Basics

Hello! Happy eve before Christmas eve. Have you gotten everything ready for Christmas?? I’m feeling pretty ready and enjoying some down time.

I know that a few days ago I said I really wasn’t a baker but something got into me last night and I had the urge to bake. I have been craving molasses cookies for awhile and found a pretty simple recipe a long time ago on allrecipes.com. After dinner and a quick run to the grocery store I mixed up the dough for the molasses cookies. The dough had to chill for an hour so while that was chilling I make funfetti cookies. We have a ton of funfetti cake mix that my friend Marianne’s mom gave us because she knows it’s Brian’s favorite. I knew you could make cookies out of it so I thought I’d give it a try. It was SUPER easy! Just add oil and two eggs to the cake mix. Brian frosted them and added the sprinkles.

100_2372

I didn’t try any but Brian said they were good and even took a bunch to work for his friends. The dough for the molasses cookies still need more time to chill so in the mean time I cut Brian’s hair.

I thought the molasses recipe was also very easy. I used this recipe.

100_2376

I did sample one of these 🙂 They were just what I was craving, soft on the inside with a little crisp on the outside! I may have also sprinkled one on my pumpkin oats this morning 🙂

100_2379

Enjoyed along with some tea in a Christmas mug with an interesting message.

100_2384

As far as my back goes things are not good. I knew I was in trouble when I had a hard time getting out of bed this morning. I am in a lot of pain. Nothing really seems to help. It’s not constant pain but it comes and goes in spasms. I’ve tried to stay on my feet to see if that helps but bending a certain way really seems to aggravate it. The worst is when I got from sitting to standing and try to straighten my back. To be honest I’m a little worried, this is worse pain I’ve been in in regards to my back. I guess the good news is I have six days where I don’t have to teach any classes so I can avoid any unnecessary activity. I am so thankful for the instructors who were able to take my classes today. There is no way I could have taught them. Did I have plans for some nice long runs over this long weekend? You bet I did. I’m a little disappointed but I know I have to listen to my body, it’s obviously telling my to slow down. It is frustrating though. I mean I had a great 10 mile run on Saturday and good run on Monday but now I can barely walk. I’m sure it will affect my training for the half marathon but I’m not going to let that get me down. I’ll walk the whole thing if I have to.

For now I’m relaxing and watching Miracle on 34th street. Marianne and John are coming over for dinner tonight and I know that will take my mind off my back. A glass or two of wine won’t hurt either!

Have a great day!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

