Christmas Tree Hunting!

Hey there! Hope you had a great Sunday to cap off the weekend. Me? I’m looking forward to hanging out on the couch and watching the Survivor Finale!

Yesterday Brian and I drove to my parents house to help them pick out a Christmas tree. My parents live about 8 miles south of town and the Christmas Tree far was even FARTHER out in the boonies. We definitely needed a four wheel drive vehicle to get there. Once we arrived we were greeted with this quaint log cabin and even quainter outhouse!

100_2286

 

100_2295

We grabbed a saw and headed for the woods. There were lots of trees to chose from!

100_2291

I remember when I was a kid and we would go Christmas tree hunting, I was always disappointed if it hadn’t snowed by the time we went to look for one. But that wasn’t a problem yesterday! We literally tromped through snow past our knees! We checked out several trees before Brian spotted this one.

100_2287 

Mom and Brian had to brush the snow off the branches to see if the tree was full enough and to make sure it didn’t have any bare spots.

100_2288

We were convinced this was “The One” and Brian chopped her down!

100_2290 

We hauled the tree back to the log cabin where the owner helped us wrap the tree with a net so the branches wouldn’t break.

100_2296

My mom almost got wrapped up too!

100_2297

It was a pretty fun adventure! When we got back to my parent’s house we tried out my dad’s new 3D TV.

100_2301

Don’t I look stylish in my 3D glasses? We watched a little bit of A Christmas Carol.  I can’t believe 3D TV is here! It feels so futuristic!

Today I’ve pretty much had to work most of the day.  A fun part of my work day was when I took a group of 11th graders to St. Rose Convent to tour the Maria Angelorum (Mary of the Angels) Chapel. I’m sure I’ve been on this tour AT LEAST a dozen times but our tour guide Sister Malinda was EXCELLENT! I learned a lot of new facts about the chapel plus she treated us to a little music on their beautiful antique harp.

100_2309

What a treat! Well, I’ve got the dishwasher running and the last load of laundry in the dryer. Time to relax and watch some Survivor! Hope you had a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

