You gotta do what you gotta do

Good Monday morning to you! I hope your week is off to a good start. What was suppose to be a low-key day off isn’t exactly turning out that way for me, oh well. Since we got a blizzard this weekend all my normal Monday cleaning chores got accomplished a few days early while I was stuck inside. Today I was simply going to kick back, relax, maybe wrap a few presents,  but I’ve had some minor annoyances to deal with. First our satellite dish went out because of all the snow. I monkeyed around with it and ended up making it worse so now we can’t even watch our DVRed shows! Than I went to our basement to get something and stepped in a GIANT puddle of water! Brian put his boots over a drain and ended up knocking a hose out of the drain, thus creating a puddle, at least I think that’s what caused it! Hopefully those are the only unexpected surprises I encounter today.

Yesterday I had an 8 mile run planned but by noon the plow still hadn’t gone through our alley so I couldn’t get my car out of our parking spot and head to the YMCA. I considered braving the cold but with 14+ inches of snow and a -6 wind chill I changed my mind. So I mentally prepared to run on our ancient treadmill Brian uses in the basement. I grabbed a few distractions and headed on down.

100_2210

I downloaded an audio book to listen to and thought Matthew McConaughey would be a good visual distraction. Sadly the DVD player was not hooked up. Here’s what I had to look at instead.

100_2213

My husbands “den” where he keeps all his “friends.” I didn’t have to look at it for long though because as I ran the treadmill shifted to the left and forward and ended up running into the door/wall of den! I had to jump off every mile and push it back. The speed on the treadmill is controlled by a little slide.

100_2212

See it there on the left? It is very sensitive! You could go from a slow crawl to a full out sprint with just a little tap! I found a good pace but the speed readout said I was going under 6 miles an hour! I’m usually at a 6.2 pace at the Y. I tried to speed it up but knew there was no way I could hold that pace for 8 miles. At the slower pace a mile took FORVER! Even though the audio book was pretty good I only lasted for 4 miles. I just couldn’t take it any more! 8 mile run….fail! Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do and if it doesn’t work out oh well.

I hope all my missed runs due to injury and snow don’t effect my half marathon too much. Like I’ve said before I’m not going for a record or anything but I also don’t want to be suffering through 13.1miles.

Well, I have plans to head to a Weight Watcher meeting and then hit up the Food Co-Op to stock up on fruits and veggies. I’m also cooking up something fantastic for lunch! See you later.

One response to “You gotta do what you gotta do

  1. Pingback: Indoor Ironman Challenge 2011 | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

