What a feast!

Hey there! Happy Black Friday to you! Anyone out shopping and finding some amazing deals? Not me! No sir! I am not really much of a shopper and the Mall scares me after Thanksgiving!

My day yesterday was quite delightful. I got to my parents a little after 11 to hang out and help prepare food. My brother and his fiance came out about noon bringing a fun and unique board game called Settlers of Catan. There was a lot of strategy but I was really getting into to it when Raina won!

At about 2pm it was time to start preparing the Turkey. Brian and my dad headed outside to the deep fryer. It was pretty cold out so they also started a bonfire. Check out the almost completed gazebo my parents built in the woods behind their house.

100_1998

Pretty cool huh? I headed up there to take a picture of the men hard at work  drinking beer frying the turkey.

100_1999

From the inside.

100_2000

I headed inside to help with the second turkey that was baking in the oven and the side dishes. While I worked my dad made me a FABULOUS drink called a Moscow Mule.

100_2001

My dad says it’s Oprah’s favorite drink and is made with 2oz of vodka, juice of 1 lime, 1 tsp of sugar, and 1/2C ginger beer. It was really good and packed quite a punch!

100_2004  100_2003

Pretty soon Brian’s mom and dad arrived and we were ready to eat.

100_2005

On the menu

Deep fried Cajun Turkey

Oven Roasted Turkey

Traditional Stuffing

Cajun andouille sausage and shrimp stuffing

Mashed potatoes

Sweet potato gratin

Cranberry fluff

Cranberry orange relish

Carrots

Wheat berry salad

Pickles and olives

Pumpkin pie

Apple Pie

REAL whipped cream!

Whew! What a menu! By far the star of the show was my dad’s Cajun stuffing with andouille sausage and shrimp. He was worried that he put too much garlic in it but that was by far my favorite dish!

My plate

100_2007

Potatoes gratin, Cajun turkey, Cajun stuffing, wheat berry salad, and cranberry orange relish. I also had an additional small serving of traditional turkey, cranberry fluff, and MORE stuffing, plus an unpictured piece of pie. So good!

We headed out early so we could see some of our friends who were only in town  on Thanksgiving Day.

Today I team taught the Turkey Blast at the Y which was a 90 minute cardio and strength class. I’m headed back shortly to teach cycling. Definitely burning off some of those calories today!

Hope you are enjoying some leftovers and continuing to have a good holiday weekend!

Technorati Tags:
One response to “What a feast!

  1. Pingback: Thankful for 22lbs and counting! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

