T’Was the night before Turkey Day!

Hey there! How are you this fine evening? I am sitting down for the first time since I got home from work! I’ve been busy preparing my contributions for tomorrow’s meal. I broke the cardinal rule and decided to prepare two brand new recipes to serve to others. I did a little taste test of one of the dishes and it was pretty tasty! So, I’m not too worried.

I sure am glad we don’t have to travel far for the holiday. The weather is terrible! It is cold and raining with the possibly of sleet, snow, and ice! I decided to do some last minute Christmas shopping downtown. I intended on finding a central parking spot and walking but since the weather was so terrible and due to the holiday there were lots of parking spots. I was able to drive from store to store but I was still wet and chilled to the bone. When I got home I popped my contacts out and promptly changed into these stylish gems!

100_1976

Nothing like a pair of baggy sweats! I also poured myself a glass of wine

100_1977

and got started straight away on preparing dinner and my dishes for tomorrow. First I drained my wheat berries which had been soaking all day.

Before

100_1982

After

100_1981

The wheat berries went into a pot of water, were brought to a boil and simmered for 1 hour. While those cooked I prepared chicken for dinner. Sorry no pictures. I tend to put the camera away when raw meat comes out. I just don’t want to risk spreading those raw juices.

While the wheat berries continued to simmer and the chicken baked in the oven I started peeling and slicing my sweet potatoes and russet potatoes for Sweet Potatoes Gratin. I was very thankful for my mandolin tonight!

100_1984 I layered the potatoes and poured a mixture of half and half, and spices over then and threw them in the oven just as the chicken was ready to come out.

100_1985

The wheat berries still had some time left so I ate dinner then it was back to the kitchen to finish up. All I had left was to add some dried fruit, scallions, and seasoning to the wheat berries. It turned out beautifully!

100_1988

I took a little taste to make sure the seasonings were right. It was very good! Very unique! I’ve never made anything with wheat berries in it. They are so delicious and have a really fun texture. I might have to find more recipes  that feature this unique grain.

I had one more special dish to get ready, cranberry fluff, just for my brother!Super simple to make. Start with cranberries thrown into the food processor.

100_1990

Process until fine. Then add one can of crushed pineapple in its own juice, and one package of vanilla instant pudding.

100_1991 You have to let sit over night to let the flavor combine. Tomorrow I’ll fold in some whipped topping. So easy! I also will have to had a finishing bread crumb topping to the potatoes and reheat and that will be it! Sorry I can’t share the exact recipes as they were from the November issue of Health magazine. I tried to find them online but now luck!

I really admire how some of the “pro-bloggers” photographer the cooking adventures. I have a hard time remembering to take pictures. Not to mention I am a super messy cook! When I finished not only were their a TON of dishes to wash but I had to wipe down every nook and cranny plus sweep the floor! Our kitchen always looks like a tornado has come through when I’ve been cooking!

I would like to run in the morning but considering the weather I’m not sure if it will be possible. Also, I thought that my leg was getting better, I even had a great 4 mile run yesterday.  But after teaching Zumba last night and cycling this morning it really hurts. I went to yoga at noon to see if I could pin point what was wrong by stretching and seeing if I felt any strain but I didn’t. It just hurts when I walk. I’m teaching part of the Turkey blast on Friday, and possibly cycling. I also have to teach on Saturday and would really like to get my long run in on Sunday. I guess if I really can’t run tomorrow I won’t.

I am just super excited to have some down time, hanging out with the family, and eating some good food!

Well, we DVRed the new Alice in Wonderland and I haven’t seen it yet! Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

Technorati Tags: ,,
2 responses to “T’Was the night before Turkey Day!

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Winter Day! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Thankful for 22lbs and counting! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

