The start of winter running

Hi! Happy Friday! Hope you’re having a good one! Mine has been very productive so far!

This morning I got up and went for a chilly 4 mile run. Before we know it winter will grace us with its presence. I’m not too worried about running in colder weather but I am fearful of when the snow flies and things get a little icy. This morning’s run was one of the coldest yet. I keep thinking if I continue to run outside, gradually I will acclimate to the cold, at least I hope so. Today’s run was good, not super awesome but not terrible either. I implemented some techniques for winter running and I think that helped. To start with I ran into the wind for the first 2 miles. It was really blowing this morning and I’m not going to lie the first half was pretty brutal. It is suggested that you run into the wind to start because if you run into it after you are all sweaty you’ll get more chilled. The two mile turn around point was a welcome sight today! The last two miles didn’t seem to bad!

I also dressed properly.

 

100_1952

I’m trying to keep track of the temperature, what I wear, and how I feel so I know how to dress for varying temperatures.This morning it was 30 degrees with a wind chill of 25 degrees, winds out of the south at 16 miles/hour. I wore a fleece hat, a long-sleeved, fleece-lined, shirt, a fleece vest, and running tights.

100_1957

I also wore these nifty mittens I picked up at Shopko.

 

100_1956

 

I like that they have the open fingers with the fold back mitten top. My hands are often the first things that get warm and I don’t like taking my gloves off and carrying them or putting them in a pocket for fear I’ll lose them. 

I’ve read that you should feel a little chilly before you run then you’ll know you are dressed properly. That’s exactly how I felt. I worked up a good sweat but wasn’t too hot by the end. You should also dress in layers so you can remove some if you do get too hot. Usually my outdoor running ends around Thanksgiving but with the half marathon in January I’m going to try and keep running outside as much as I can. I think I have most of the proper clothes but might need a warmer pair of tights and a warmer wind breaker type jacket for when it get really cold!

After my run I had a delicious breakfast of oats in a jar using the empty jar from my pumpkin butter.

 

 

100_1958

There are also some raspberries, 1/2 a banana, and a few crumbs left over from my Pumpkin Butter Oat Squares.  I also enjoyed a nice hot cup of coffee!

100_1961

Well, I’ve been slaving a way at work today and tonight I have Grad School, which I am looking forward to! The husband is deer hunting this weekend.

Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

