Dessert Fail???

Hey there! How are you doing this fine Thursday evening? I had a great day but I’m pretty beat! These Triple Threat Thursday’s really wear me out! Sorry I haven’t been posting much. I guess I just didn’t feel like I did anything interesting. With my back being in pain I was kind of crabby too! I did however, try and make a wonderful dessert, Pumpkin Butter Oat Squares with Candied Pecans I saw on Angela’s blog. I actually made this recipe over a period of three days. Tuesday after we returned from an early Christmas shopping trip I whipped up the Pumpkin Butter. This was SO easy to make and tastes AMAZING! I will never buy pumpkin butter again now that I know how easy it is to make. In between work events yesterday I made the candied pecans. These were also really easy and tasted so good. It was hard to keep my hands out of them. I was really getting excited to make the actual bars. I followed the directions to a “T” except I used half spelt flour and half whole wheat flour.  I also used a 9X11 baking pan. When I got the final mixture finished something just didn’t seem right. It was really sticky. Angela recommended reserving half of the oat mixture to crumble over the top of the pumpkin butter  but there was no was I could crumble it. It was just too moist so I added back to the original mixture. After I pre-baked it, it looked okay. So I added the layers and finished baking it. It look pretty good right out of the oven.

100_1918

After letting it cool and set up in the freezer I tried to cut into  it and make cute little bars like Angela did but it was not working. I put it back in the freezer and headed out to teach Zumba with instructions for the hubby to take it out. When I got home I managed to cox a few squares out of it but it still wasn’t “perfect.” I guess I wouldn’t really call it a fail because I tasted tested some of the ruined squares and they were delicious! I’m taking the bars I did cut to my class tomorrow, I’m sure someone will eat them 🙂

In other news, Brian took some time off of work for hunting but decided today to just hang out at home. We ended up taking a lovely walk through the marsh with our fur-baby who turned 4 today! It was cold but sunny and we saw lots of ducks feeding on the water. I got some great shots of the beautiful day!

100_1921

 

100_1929  

100_1930

100_1946

100_1949  

I feel so lucky that we live with in walking distance from these beautiful trails!Well, I’m going to chill in front of the television for the night! Hope you have a good night and good start to your weekend!

Technorati Tags: ,,
One response to “Dessert Fail???

  1. Pingback: Pop goes the blogger | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

