I guess this is why I don’t eat cereal for breakfast anymore

Hello there! Happy Thursday to you! How as your week been going? Mine has been pretty good. I guess I’m just going to have to live with the fact that I won’t be blogging much if at all on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I’m just to busy at work and usually have stuff after work. Plus my desktop at home doesn’t have Windows Live Writer and I don’t bring my laptop home on those nights. Maybe when I get my own laptop 🙂

I can’t believe I am even able to post today! I have been super busy! It’s Triple Threat Thursday again so I’ve been busy teaching classes. In between those classes I’ve run a few errands, worked on a paper (it’s due this weekend!) and even made Pumpkin Pie Spiced Almond Butter (that last jar only lasted me a week!).

But that’s not what I really wanted to talk about today. I made a recent discovery lately. I haven’t eaten cereal for breakfast (except when out of town I guess) for almost a year. I usually eat oatmeal, green smoothies, overnight oats, and sometimes eggs. I was getting kind of bored with oatmeal lately and kept seeing the commercials for Kashi cereal that has as much protein as an egg. Last time I was at the store I bought some (I forgot how expensive healthy cereal was too!). I eagerly awaited the morning I would try this for breakfast. I poured out one serving and instantly remembered why I don’t eat cereal for breakfast.

100_1827

It barely filled the bowl! (How do like the Izzy butt in the picture?). If I wouldn’t have measured it out I know I would have filled the bowl twice as high. True I did add about 1/2 C of milk and a banana but iftwas definitely not satisfying. It tasted delicious but I just wasn’t full. For that small of serving it is pretty calorie dense as well. I figured out that my regular bowl of oatmeal, with milk, banana, and toppings is only about 50-75 calories more than a (portioned) bowl of cereal and milk.

100_1829

I guess adding pumpkin, one egg white to the oatmeal plus cooking half the banana with the oats really bulks it up. I am definitely a volume eater. Look at the two compared side by side.

100_1831

All loaded up (almost to the top) with toppings!

100_1832

Don’t you worry the cereal will not go to waste. As you can see from the photo above it makes a nice oatmeal topping. I only use about 1/3 of a serving for a little crunch.

Just an interesting observation I’ve had over the last few days when I wasn’t blogging. Tomorrow I’m going to lunch with my friend Carolyn and I am bringing the camera this time!

Well, I have one more class to teach tonight, Zumba! Then made I’ll prep some chili to throw in the crock pot for tomorrow and most definitely watch The Office! Hope you have a good evening!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

