Nut Butter Makes Everything Better!

Hey there! I hope you survived your Monday. I did, barely!

I pretty much woke up on the wrong side of the bed and was  in a pretty grumpy mood. I’m not even sure why! I didn’t have to go into the office during the day, I didn’t have any exercise planned as I did my long run (6 miles) yesterday, and I got enough sleep. I just didn’t want to do anything but lay around in my sweat pants.

I did motivate myself to get dressed, walk the dog, do some cleaning, and practiced a little Zumba. After lunch I had good intentions of making some Pumpkin Spiced Almond butter that I had seen on Ashley’s blog. My very good friend Jess called to see what I was up to. She recently moved to Peru and was back in town for work. I knew if I got together with her my mood would be instantly lifted. I asked if she minded coming over to my house while I made the almond butter. She is also a lover of all things pumpkin! I started the process of roasting the almonds before she came over. Here are nuts getting coasted with molasses and maple syrup.

100_1803

Usually when I make nut butter I don’t roast the nuts first I just throw them in the food processor but into the oven these little babies went for 30 minutes.

100_1804

After they were done roasting they needed to cool before being processed. Jess and I got caught up while we waited. Then into the food processor they went for the typical amount of time, scrapping and waiting for the magic to happen. When it was finally to my liking I added the spices, more maple syrup and molasses and gave it a  whirl to make it smooth.

100_1805

This was so amazing! I don’t think I’ll be able to go back to plain old almond butter again! I can’t wait to put this on all sorts of things! Jess and I had some on toast for a snack. So good!

After Jess left I headed over to the Salvation Army to help serve the evening meal. On one of the counters I saw this,

100_1807

I’ve seen some P.B. Loco peanut butter in stores but never this flavor. And the flavors I did see were SUPER expensive! I asked the head cook where she got it and she said it was donated and if I wanted I could have it! I was pretty excited!

So, yes, it’s true nut butter did lift my mood. Well, maybe it was quality time spent with a good friend and doing some meaningful work!

I’ve got a couple busy days ahead of me. Might not get a chance to post again until Thursday! Hope you’re week is off to a good start!

p.s. Look what came from UPS today!

100_1808

100_1809

My new dance sneakers! I’ll let you know how they work out after I teach Zumba tomorrow!

One response to “Nut Butter Makes Everything Better!

  1. Pingback: In an almond shell | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

