Triple Threat Thursday

Hey there! How’s your Thursday going? It almost Friday! Yay! Before I explain what Triple Threat Thursday is I have to tell how awesome my first training run was for my next half marathon. Want to know why it was so awesome? Because Brian ran the WHOLE 4 MILES with me! My training plan called for a 4 mile easy run. Remember when Brian decided to start running?  He worked his way up to 30 minutes/3miles. Now that it’s hunting season he hasn’t been running more than once a week and he likes to do a two mile loop in our neighborhood. He keeps telling me he’s working on speed not distance. When I got home from work Tuesday I suggested that since I had to run 4 miles we should run the first two miles together and then I’d just do a second loop. He agreed! When we started out Brian was going WAY faster than me. I knew there was no way I could keep that pace and complete the 4 miles. I like to finish faster than I start. Eventually he slowed down. We were nearing the end of the two miles and he said he was going to sprint to the end. Then he said, “Or maybe I’ll run the second loop with you.” I said, “That would be AWESOME.” And he did it! I was so proud of him!

So, why is it Triple Threat Thursday? Because for the first time I am teaching all three of my fitness disciplines in one day, Group Strength, Cycling, and Zumba! Pretty crazy huh?! In order to have enough energy throughout my day to teach these classes (and to function!) I need to eat the right foods at the right time. It’s kind of a balancing act between calories in and calories out. Sure, I’ll technically be exercising for 3 total hours today burning a lot of calories but that doesn’t mean I can just eat whatever I want. I thought it would be fun to share with you my eats for the day.

I woke up at about 6:30am and ate breakfast at 7:00pm,  big bowl of oatmeal.

100_1758

In the bowl

  • 1/2 C Water and 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/2 C Rolled Oats
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 egg white stirred in at the end
  • 1/4 C can pumpkin

Toppings

  • 1/3 C Pumpkin Spiced Granola
  • Drizzle of all natural peanut butter

I’m estimating this at about 450 calories. At 9:15am I taught Group Strength burning approximately 200 calories.

I came home and did some prep work for tonight’s Zumba class. For a snack I had a green smoothie.

100_1759

In my smoothie

  • 1 C Skim Milk
  • 2 C Spinach
  • 1 scoop of Amazing Wheat Grass chocolate powder
  • 1 C frozen pineapple

An estimate 150 calories in this bad boy. It was a little cold out to be drinking a smoothie and I was freezing when I returned to the Y. But not for long. I taught 45 minute group cycling (spinning) class burning approximately 400 calories.

When I came home I wasn’t hungry yet. Sometimes it takes awhile for my appetite to catch up with me. When I did finally decide to eat lunch. I had a few left overs.

100_1762

In case you’re wondering, that mess if leftover spaghetti squash pie (basically spaghetti squash topped with spaghetti sauce and cheese) a hunk of bread, and a pear sprinkled with cinnamon. I’m approximating that lunch to be about 400-500 calories.

The day’s not over yet! I’m doing a FREE demo Zumba class at a dance studio and hoping we get some students to sign up for a 6 week session! I hope to have a snack about an hour before class and our plans for dinner include home made pizza! Stay tuned for more Triple Threat Eats!

3 responses to “Triple Threat Thursday

  1. Pingback: The Unhealthy Side of The Girl with the Pin Sneakers | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Sike! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  3. Pingback: Back and ready for action…well, almost! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

